RNA Institute Faculty & Staff

Institute Leadership
Thomas Begley
Professor of Biological Sciences, Associate Director of RNA Institute
LS 2033
Marlene Belfort
Distinguished Professor, Senior Advisor of RNA Institute
LS 2060
RNA Leadership
Rajendra K. Agrawal
Wadsworth Center, Biggs Lab, Room C450
Cheryl P. Andam
Assistant Professor
Life Sciences 2060
John Cleary
Collaborative Staff Scientist
Life Sciences 2033
Douglas S. Conklin
Associate Professor
Cancer Research Center, Room 342H
M. Joan Curcio
Wadsworth Center, Center for Medical Science, Room 5219
Bijan K. Dey
Principal Investigator, The RNA Institute; Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Life Sciences 2098 (Office) Life Sciences 2020 (Lab)
Ken Halvorsen
Senior Research Scientist
Life Sciences 2020A
Jason Herschkowitz
Assistant Professor
East Campus CRC 342
Kaalak Reddy
Research Faculty; Adjunct Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences
Life Sciences 2015A
Alexander Shekhtman
Professor, Chair and Director, Graduate Program
Life Sciences 1149
John M. Sullivan
Professor of Ophthalmology, University at Buffalo
Scott Tenenbaum
Associate Professor of Nanobioscience, College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering, SUNY Polytechnic Institute
NFE 4312 SUNY Polytechnic
Sweta Vangaveti
Research Scientist, Advanced Computational Facility Manager
Life Sciences 2016A
Associate Faculty
Nilesh Banavali
Assistant Professor
Wadsworth Center, Biggs Lab, Room C419B
Nathaniel Cady
Empire Innovation Professor of Nanobioscience and Executive Director, SUNY Applied Materials Research Institute
SUNY Poly NFE 4405
Ye Ding
Research Scientist, Wadsworth Center, Research Professor, Biomedical Sciences
Empire State Plaza C236
Keith Earle
Associate Professor and Chair of Physics
Physics 112
Hongmin Li
Associate Professor
Wadsworth Center, Center for Medical Science, Room 5221
Robert Osuna
Associate Professor
LS 2062
Hua Shi
Associate Professor
LS 2050
Alex Valm
Assistant Professor
BIO 324
Ing-Nang Wang
Associate Professor
LS 2077
Affiliate Faculty
Eriks Rozners
Professor of Organic and Bioorganic Chemistry, Binghamton University
Daniel P. Aalberts
Professor of Physics, Williams College
Dana R. Crawford
Associate Professor, Albany Medical College
Lauren Endres
Assistant Professor of Biology, SUNY Polytechnic Institute
Steven D. Hanes
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, SUNY Upstate Medical University
Sally Temple
Scientific Director, Principal Investigator and Co-Founder, Neural Stem Cell Institute
Paul Whitford
Associate Professor of Physics, Northeastern University
Distinguished Faculty
Paul Agris
Founding Director of The RNA Institute; Consulting Professor, Duke University Department of Medicine
Joachim Frank
Chemist Nobel 2017, Professor of Biological Sciences, Columbia University
Angel Garcia
Director of CNLS Los Alamos National Laboratory
David Shub
Emeritus Professor of Biological Sciences, University at Albany
Michael Zuker
Professor of Mathematical Sciences and Biology, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Institute Staff
Paul Gumpper
Administrative Manager
Life Sciences 2033G
Liisa Koski
Science Communication Specialist
Life Sciences 2033H
Ryan Meng
Bioinformatics Support Specialist
Life Sciences 2097
Tammy Reid, MSc, CCRC
Research and Development Manager, Berglund Lab Manager
Life Sciences 2033J
Donna Willey
Office Assistant
Life Sciences 2033I