Department of Educational Policy & Leadership

The Department of Educational Policy & Leadership is dedicated to enhancing the understanding and practice of educational leadership and policy at all levels of the education system, cradle-to-career. Faculty is comprised of leading scholars and seasoned professionals who create a unique learning experience for tomorrow’s educational leaders in New York, across the United States or around the world.

Department News
Department Faculty
Assistant Service Professor
Campus Center West B91
Graduate Advisor & Lecturer
Catskill 365
Distinguished Professor
Catskill 315
Associate Professor & Department Chair
Catskill 301
Assistant Dean for Academics and Assessment & Assistant Service Professor
Catskill 285
Assistant Director of School Leadership and Development
Catskill 322
Assistant Professor
Catskill 323
Associate Professor & Director for Global Engagement, Interim Dean and Vice Provost of the CIEGS
Catskill 314
Associate Professor
Catskill 363
Professor
Catskill 351
Professor Emerita & Former SUNY Chancellor

Lecturers & Affiliated Faculty:


Dr. Kristine D. Duffy - SUNY Adirondack President
kduffy3@albany.edu


Dr. Emily Lynne Feuer - Asst Director, Student Affairs, Assessment & Placement, Operations & Administration, University at Albany (EPL PhD Alumna '19)
efeuer@albany.edu
 

Dr. Kristyn Muller - Impact Analyst, Open SUNY, SUNY System Administration (EPL PhD Alumna '18)
kmuller@albany.edu
 

Dr. Ethan Sprissler - Faculty Program Director at Excelsior College (UAlbany Alumnus)
ksprissler@albany.edu
 

Susan Swartz - Superintendent at Scotia-Glenville Central School District
smswartz@albany.edu

Dr. Benjamin Weaver - Assistant Vice Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs & Service Professor, University at Albany (EPL PhD Alumnus '08)
bweaver@albany.edu
 

Jay Worona, Esq. - Deputy Executive Director and General Counsel at NYS School Boards Association
j.worona@nyssba.org
 

Dr. Kai Zhou - Assistant Director of Assessment, Institutional Research, University at Albany (EPL PhD Alumna '19)
kzhou2@albany.edu
 


International Education Leadership Fellows:


Ronald Cushing - International Education Leadership Fellow
Director, UC International Services, University of Cincinnati
rcushing@albany.edu

Gretchen Dobson - International Education Leadership Fellow
President, Global Alumni Relations, Managing Director Australia, Academic Assembly Inc.
gdobson@albany.edu
 

Dr. David DiMaria - International Education Leadership Fellow
Associate Vice Provost for International Education, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
didimaria@albany.edu
 

Karin E. Fischer - International Education Leadership Fellow
Journalist, Chronicle of Higher Education and Latitudes
kefischer@albany.edu

Dr. Joshua McKeown - International Education Leadership Fellow
Associate Provost for International Education and Programs, SUNY Oswego
jmckeown@albany.edu

Dr. Brian Whalen - International Education Leadership Fellow
Chief Academic Officer and Dean of Education, Atlantis
bjwhalen@albany.edu
 


Graduate Student Instructors:


David Epstein - EPL Doctoral Candidate
depstein@albany.edu
 

Jessica Krupski - EPL Doctoral Candidate
jkrupski@albany.edu
 

Rachel Ann Sullivan - Sociology Doctoral Candidate - UAlbany
rsullivan@albany.edu

 

Department Staff:

The Department can be contacted by email at epl@albany.edu 

Dr. Gina Giuliano, Graduate Advisor (EPL PhD Alumna '00)
HU 359 (Catskill 365)
(518) 442-3528
ggiuliano@albany.edu
 

Maria Moon, Department Coordinator (MS, San Francisco State University)
Catskill 309
(518) 442-5080
mmoon@albany.edu
 

Sheila Meissner, Secretary
Catskill 304 (9am-1pm, M-F)
(518) 442-5105
smeissner@albany.edu