Complete Academic Calendar

Narrow By

Undergraduate Calendar Classes Suspended Advance Registration
Graduate Calendar Commencement/Graduation Related Dates Late Registration
Semester Courses UUP Information Drop/Add Dates
8week1 Courses Financial Liability Dates for Dropping Courses Withdrawal Dates
8week2 Courses Grading    

Academic Calendars

The Academic Calendar is subject to change at any time by official action of the University at Albany.

Published on 10/13/2020

Sat, August 22

UUP eligible students using the UUP Employee Tuition Waiver may register for/add 8 Week 1 or Semester Length course 

Sun, August 23

Last day for International Students to drop courses with no SEVIS Fee. The SEVIS fee is not refundable once classes begin (view liability schedule). 

Mon, August 24

First day for non-UAlbany students to cross-register for UAlbany courses 

Mon, August 24

Classes begin at 8:00am

Mon, August 24

Fall 2020 Degree Application Submission Available for UNDERGRADUATE & GRADUATE students.  Those students who expect to complete degree requirements by the official degree conferral date (12/12/2020) must apply via the web at MyUAlbany

Tue, August 25

Late registration begins. Late registration fee charged

Thu, August 27

Last day to add 8 Week 1 course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required) 

Sun, August 30

Last day to drop semester length and 8W1 courses with 0% financial liability (view liability schedule). 

Mon, August 31

Last day to drop 8 Week 1 course without receiving a "W" 

Mon, August 31

Last day to add 8 Week 1 course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required) 

Mon, August 31

Last day to add semester length course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required) 

Fri, September 4

Last day to drop semester length course without receiving a "W" 

Fri, September 4

Last day to add semester length course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required) 

Fri, September 4

Last day of late registration for the semester 

Fri, September 4

Last day to formally audit semester length course (information can be found here

Sun, September 6

Last day to drop 8W1 courses with 65% financial liability (view liability schedule). 

Sun, September 6

Last day to drop semester length courses with 30% financial liability (view liability schedule). 

Mon, September 7

100% financial liability for dropped 8W1 courses (view liability schedule). 

Sun, September 13

Last day to drop semester length courses with 50% financial liability (view liability schedule).

Fri, September 18

Last day for GRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 1 course ("W" assigned) 

Sun, September 20

Last day to drop semester length courses with 70% financial liability (view liability schedule). 

Mon, September 21

100% financial liability for dropped semester length courses (view liability schedule). 

Wed, September 23

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 1 course ("W" assigned) 

Wed, September 23

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for 8 Week 1 course 

Tue, October 6

UUP eligible students using the UUP Employee Tuition Waiver may register for/add 8 Week 2 course 

Wed, October 7

Midterm Point 

Wed, October 7

Last day of 8 Week 1 classes 

Thu, October 8

8 Week 2 classes begin - 8:00am 

Tue, October 13

Last day to add 8 Week 2 course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required) 

Tue, October 13

Expected date that final grades for 8 Week 1 classes will be posted and available to students on MyUAlbany (by 12:00pm). Subject to change at any time. Please check Semester Deadline Announcements under the Academics tab in MyUAlbany for additional information. Students who are missing grades after this date should contact their instructors directly.

Wed, October 14

Last day to drop 8W2 courses with 0% financial liability (view liability schedule). 

Wed, October 14

Last day for GRADUATE students to drop semester length course ("W" assigned) 

Thu, October 15

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 course without receiving a "W" 

Thu, October 15

Last day to add 8 Week 2 course with permission if instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required) 

Mon, October 19

First day for Albany Law School students to cross-register for Spring 2021 UAlbany courses 

Wed, October 21

Last day to drop 8W2 courses with 65% financial liability (view liability schedule). 

Thu, October 22

100% financial liability for dropped 8W2 courses (view liability schedule). 

Wed, October 28

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for semester length course 

Wed, October 28

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop semester length course ("W" assigned) 

Wed, November 4

Last day for GRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 2 course ("W" assigned)

Fri, November 6

Last day for students to make up incomplete grades from Spring 2020 or Summer 2020 

Mon, November 9

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for 8 Week 2 course 

Mon, November 9

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 2 course ("W" assigned) 

Tue, November 10

Advance Registration for Winter 2020-21 and Spring 2021 will begin in November 2020. Dates will be announced soon.

Tue, November 24

Last day of classes 

Tue, November 24

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to withdraw voluntarily from the University and receive "W" grades  

Wed, November 25 - Sun, November 29

Classes Suspended - Thanksgiving Break

Mon, November 30

Final Examinations begin

Tue, December 1

Last day for dissertation and thesis submission for Fall 2020 graduation 

Mon, December 7

Final Examinations End 

Mon, December 7

Fall 2020 UNDERGRADUATE and GRADUATE degree applications due - submit via MyUAlbany 

Thu, December 10

Expected date that final grades for semester length classes and 8 Week 2 classes will be posted and available to students on MyUAlbany (by 12:00pm). Subject to change at any time.  Please check Semester Deadline Announcement under the Academics tab in MyUAlbany for additional information.  Students who are missing grades after this date should contact their instructors directly. 

Sat, December 12

Official degree conferral date Fall 2020. While degree clearance begins after the conclusion of final grading, it may take up to one month to complete the posting of all degrees. This timeline should be considered when ordering transcripts and submitting degree verifications. Please check your unofficial transcript to see when your degree has been awarded. Students with degree deficiencies will be contacted via their UAlbany email addresses. For additional information, please check Semester Deadline Announcements under the Academics tab in MyUAlbany