Complete Academic Calendar

Narrow By

Undergraduate Calendar Classes Suspended Advance Registration
Graduate Calendar Commencement/Graduation Related Dates Late Registration
Semester Courses UUP Information Drop/Add Dates
8week1 Courses Financial Liability Dates for Dropping Courses Withdrawal Dates
8week2 Courses Grading    

Academic Calendars

Please note the use of Saturday, December 14, 2019 as a Final Examination day.

Printable PDF

The Academic Calendar is subject to change at any time by official action of the University at Albany.

Published on 9/3/2019

Fri, August 23
Opening Convocation

Sat, August 24
UUP eligible students using the UUP Employee Tuition Waiver may register for/add 8 Week 1 or Semester Length course

Sun, August 25 Note to International Students: The SEVIS fee is not refundable once classes begin (view liability schedule).

Mon, August 26
Classes begin at 8:00 am

Mon, August 26
First day for non-UAlbany students to cross-register for UAlbany courses

Mon, August 26
Fall 2019 Degree Application Submission Available for UNDERGRADUATE & GRADUATE students.  Those students who expect to complete degree requirements by the official degree conferral date (12/21/2019) must apply via the web at MyUAlbany

Tue, August 27
Late Registration begins. Late registration fee charged.

Thu, August 29
Last day to add 8 Week 1 course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required)

Sun, September 1
Last day to drop semester length and 8W1 courses with 0% financial liability (view liability schedule).

Mon, September 2
Classes Suspended
Labor Day

Tue, September 3
Last day to add semester length course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required)

Tue, September 3
Classes Resume 8:00 am

Tue, September 3
Last day to drop 8 Week 1 course without receiving a "W"

Tue, September 3
Last day to add 8 Week 1 course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required).

Sun, September 8
Last week to drop 8 Week 1 courses with 60% financial liability (view liability schedule).

Sun, September 8
Last day to drop semester length courses with 30% financial liability (view liability schedule).

Mon, September 9
Last day to drop semester length course without receiving a "W"

Mon, September 9
Last day to formally audit semester length course

Mon, September 9
Last day to add semester length course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required)

Mon, September 9
Last day of late registration for the semester

Sun, September 15
Last day to drop 8 Week 1 courses with 80% financial liability (view liability schedule).

Sun, September 15
Last day to drop semester length courses with 50% financial liability (view liability schedule).

Mon, September 16
100% financial liability for dropped 8 Week 1 courses (view liability schedule).

Sun, September 22
Last day to drop semester length courses with 70% financial liability (view liability schedule).

Mon, September 23
100% financial liability for dropped semester length courses (view liability schedule).

Mon, September 23
Last day for GRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 1 course ("W" assigned)

Thu, September 26
Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 1 course ("W" assigned)

Thu, September 26
Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for 8 Week 1 course

Thu, October 10
Midterm Point

Thu, October 10 8 Week 1 Final examination period begins

Fri, October 11
Last day of 8 Week 1 classes

Fri, October 11
8 Week 1 Final examination period ends

Mon, October 14
UUP eligible students using the UUP Employee Tuition Waiver may register for/add 8 Week 2 course

Mon, October 14 - Tue, October 15
Classes Suspended
Fall Break

Wed, October 16 - Fri, November 15
Advance Registration for Winter 2019-20 and Spring 2020 begins

Wed, October 16
First day for Albany Law School students to cross-register for Spring 2020 UAlbany courses.

Wed, October 16
8 Week 2 classes begin - 8:00 am

Wed, October 16
Classes Resume 8:00 am

Fri, October 18
Expected date that final grades for 8 Week 1 classes will be posted and available to students on MyUAlbany (by 12:00pm).  Subject to change at any time. Please check Semester Deadline Announcements under the Academics tab in MyUAlbany for additional information.  Students who are missing grades after this date should contact their instructors directly.

Mon, October 21
Last day for GRADUATE students to drop semester length course ("W" assigned)

Mon, October 21
Last day to add 8 Week 2 course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required)

Tue, October 22
Last day to drop 8 Week 2 courses with 0% financial liability (view liability schedule).

Wed, October 23
Last day to drop 8 Week 2 course without receiving a "W'

Wed, October 23
Last day to add 8 Week 2 course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required).

Tue, October 29
Last day to drop 8 Week 2 courses with 60% financial liability (view liability schedule).

Mon, November 4
Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop semester length course ("W" assigned)

Mon, November 4
Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for semester length course

Tue, November 5
Last day to drop 8 Week 2 courses with 80% financial liability (view liability schedule).

Wed, November 6
100% financial liability for dropped 8 Week 2 courses (view liability schedule).

Fri, November 8
Last day for students to make up incomplete grades from Spring 2019 or Summer 2019

Tue, November 12
Last day for GRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 2 course ("W" assigned)

Fri, November 15
Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 2 course ("W" assigned)

Fri, November 15
Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for 8 Week 2 course

Wed, November 27 - Sun, December 1
Classes Suspended
Thanksgiving Break

Sun, December 1
Last day for dissertation and thesis submission for Fall 2019 graduation

Mon, December 2
Classes Resume 8:00 am

Mon, December 9
Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to withdraw voluntarily from the University and receive "W" grades

Mon, December 9
Last day of classes

Tue, December 10
Reading Day

Wed, December 11
Final Examinations begin

Tue, December 17
Fall 2019 UNDERGRADUATE and GRADUATE degree applications due - submit via MyUAlbany

Tue, December 17
Final Examinations end

Fri, December 20
Expected date that final grades for semester length classes and 8 Week 2 classes will be posted and available to students on MyUAlbany (by 12:00pm). Subject to change at any time.  Please check Semester Deadline Announcements under the Academics tab in MyUAlbany for additional information.  Students who are missing grades after this date should contact their instructors directly.

Sat, December 21
Official degree conferral date Fall 2019.  While degree clearance begins after the conclusion of final grading, it may take up to one month to complete the posting of all degrees.  This timeline should be considered when ordering transcripts and submitting degree verifications.  Please check your unofficial transcript to see when your degree has been awarded. Students with degree deficiencies will be contacted via their UAlbany email addresses.  For additional information, please check Semester Deadline Announcements under the Academics tab in MyUAlbany.