Cross-Registration Guidelines

The governor’s office announced that students at SUNY and CUNY colleges and universities will be required to be vaccinated against COVID-19 before arriving to campus this fall. 

Effective Monday, August 23, 2021, all students taking courses on the UAlbany campus are required to be vaccinated against COVID-19. This means vaccination is mandatory for all students who will physically come to any UAlbany campus or facility for any reason during the 2021-2022 Academic Year, unless they receive a UAlbany-approved exemption. Failure to meet all UAlbany vaccination and COVID-19 surveillance testing when required will result in losing access to UAlbany campuses and courses.  

Please visit the Vaccinate UAlbany webpage for additional information on this requirement and specifics on becoming compliant.  Cross-registered students are solely responsible for providing appropriate vaccination documentation to the University at Albany as instructed.

The University at Albany participates in three different agreements that allow students the opportunity to take courses at participating institutions while still enrolled at the University at Albany. It is important to be aware that each institution sets its own policies, procedures, registration dates and deadlines, and fees related to cross-registration. It is the responsibility of the students to be aware of these conditions before they cross-register at any host institution.

1. SUNY Cross-Registration: this agreement is for undergraduate students seeking to enroll through an agreement at another SUNY institution.

a. A complete list of SUNY campuses can be found here.

b. The SUNY Cross-Registration Guidelines and Form can be found here.

c. Excluded from these Guidelines are: (1) instructional arrangements with CUNY or independent/private colleges and universities; (2) academic programs jointly offered by more than one SUNY campus; (3) SUNY’s statutory colleges at Cornell and Alfred Universities, (4) instructional arrangements between Environmental Science and Forestry and Syracuse University; (5) State-Operated branch campuses co-located with a SUNY community college; (6) Study Abroad programs; and (7) International Programs.

2. The Hudson/Mohawk Association of Colleges and Universities: this agreement is for undergraduate and graduate students seeking to enroll at a college or university that participates in this agreement. A complete list of participating schools, the policy, and form can be found here.

3. Albany Law School and the University at Albany: this agreement is for eligible University at Albany seniors and graduate students seeking to enroll in courses at Albany Law School. The guidelines, form, and list of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) can be found here.