Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Violence
 


        Gary Ackerman

Gary Ackerman
College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity
Associate Professor
Department: Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity


Expert in the following: Terrorism; threat assessment; chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear weapons; innovation; adversary behavior modelling; red-teaming; emerging technologies; extremist ideologies
Campus phone: 518-442-5251
Campus email: gackerman@albany.edu



        Frankie Bailey

Frankie Bailey
School of Criminal Justice
Professor
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: Crime and mass media/popular culture; crime history; race, gender, crime; crime and detective fiction
Campus phone: (518) 442-5237
Campus email: fybailey@albany.edu



        Susan Gauss

Susan Gauss
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Anthropology


Expert in the following: 19th and 20th century Latin America; Industrialism in Mexico; state-society relations and public policy; global commodities and consumption; gender in a global context; revolutions and social movements in Latin America
Campus phone: (518) 442-5345
Campus email: sgauss@albany.edu



        Robert Griffin

Robert Griffin
College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity
Dean
Department: Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity


Expert in the following: Emergency preparedness; homeland security; cybersecurity; internet of things/smart cities; smart violence and stadium security; American federalism; state and local governance
Campus phone: 518-442-5258
Campus email: rpgriffin@albany.edu



        David Guinn

David Guinn
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Senior Associate
Department: Center for International Development


Expert in the following: International development in democracy and governance; international public law; human rights; intellectual property; human trafficking; religion and violence; post-conflict, and multicultural and religious pluralism
Campus phone: 443-2716
Campus email: dguinn@albany.edu



        Alan Lizotte

Alan Lizotte
School of Criminal Justice
Professor
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: Guns; gun control; statistics and quantitative research methods; patterns of firearms ownership and use; juvenile delinquency; victimization
Campus phone: (518) 442-5214
Campus email: alizotte@albany.edu



        Jennifer Manganello

Jennifer Manganello
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Health communication; health literacy; health disparities; mass media; social media; media campaigns; health information seeking.
Campus phone: (518) 402-0304
Campus email: jmanganello@albany.edu



        Steven F. Messner

Steven F. Messner
College of Arts and Sciences
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Homicide; violent crime; crime in China
Campus phone: (518) 442-4674
Campus email: smessner@albany.edu



        Justin Pickett

Justin Pickett
School of Criminal Justice
Assistant Professor
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: Public opinion on crime and criminal justice; social threat and social control; juvenile justice and delinquency; community influences on attitudes and behavior; sociology of punishment
Campus phone: (518) 442-5210
Campus email: jpickett@albany.edu



        Barbara Rio

Barbara Rio
School of Social Welfare
Assistant Director
Department: Social Welfare


Expert in the following: Domestic violence; diversity
Campus phone: 442-3488
Campus email: rio@albany.edu