Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Information Technology
 


        Pradeep Atrey

Pradeep Atrey
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Computer Science


Expert in the following: Multimedia surveillance for homeland security; privacy issues in multimedia surveillance systems; multimedia data security and forensics; multimedia data mining
Campus phone: (518) 442-4281
Campus email: patrey@albany.edu



        Peter Bloniarz

Peter Bloniarz
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Associate Professor


Expert in the following: Informatics; information technology; information science; e-governance
Campus phone: 956-8240
Campus email: p.bloniarz@albany.edu



        Kim L. Boyer

Kim L. Boyer
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Professor and Dean
Department: https://www.albany.edu/computerengineering


Expert in the following: Computer vision; image analysis
Campus phone: (518) 956-8240
Campus email: kboyer3@albany.edu



        Donna Canestraro

Donna Canestraro
University at Albany
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Systems/data integration; business process analysis; information architecture
Campus phone: 442-3892
Campus email: dcanestraro@albany.edu



        Ming-Ching Chang

Ming-Ching Chang
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: https://www.albany.edu/computerengineering


Expert in the following: computer vision; machine learning; image/video processing; artificial intelligence; medical image analysis and industrial inspection
Campus phone: (518) 442-5085
Campus email: mchang2@albany.edu



        Charalampos Chelmis

Charalampos Chelmis
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Computer Science


Expert in the following: Big Data; Network Science
Campus phone: (518) 437-4948
Campus email: cchelmis@albany.edu



        Feng Chen

Feng Chen
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Computer Science


Expert in the following: Data mining; detecting emerging events in social media; discovering complex patterns in big data
Campus phone: (518) 437-4940
Campus email: fchen5@albany.edu



        InduShobha Chengalur-Smith

InduShobha Chengalur-Smith
School of Business
Associate Professor
Department: Information Technology Management


Expert in the following: Virtual communities; technology adoption and implementation; information quality and security
Campus phone: (518) 956-8315
Campus email: shobha@albany.edu



Expert in the following:



        Hany Elgala

Hany Elgala
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: https://www.albany.edu/computerengineering


Expert in the following: Telecommunications; digital signal processing and embedded systems
Campus phone: (518) 442-2585
Campus email: helgala@albany.edu



        Sanjay Goel

Sanjay Goel
School of Business
Professor
Department: Information Technology Management


Expert in the following: Information security; hacking; computer forensics; risk analysis; cybersecurity; wireless security; botnets (zombie computers); nanosensor networks; optimization
Campus phone: (518) 956-8323
Campus email: goel@albany.edu



        Jana Hrdinova

Jana Hrdinova
University at Albany
Program Associate
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Policy and policy analysis; international relations; current practice research; survey design; project development; mobile technology; enterprise IT governance and administration
Campus phone: 442-3892
Campus email: jhrdinova@albany.edu



        Jeong-Hyon Hwang

Jeong-Hyon Hwang
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Computer Science


Expert in the following: Databases; distributed systems; real-time data analysis
Campus phone: (518) 437-4935
Campus email: jhwang@albany.edu



        Richard D. Johnson

Richard D. Johnson
School of Business
Associate Professor
Department: Management


Expert in the following: Human Resource Information Systems; e-learning; psychological and sociological impacts of technology; psychology and computer use; motivation; the Digital Divide; managing millennials
Campus phone: 442-3020
Campus email: rjohnson@albany.edu



        Brian Keough

Brian Keough
University Libraries
Department Head
Department: M.E. Grenander Special Collections and Archives


Expert in the following: Acquisition and access to archival collections; needs assessments and business process analysis for record management programs; digital preservation; regional political history
Campus phone: (518) 437-3931
Campus email: bkeough@albany.edu



        Yelin Kim

Yelin Kim
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: https://www.albany.edu/computerengineering


Expert in the following: Human-centered speech and video processing; affective computing; multimodal signal processing; machine learning
Campus phone: (518) 442-5081
Campus email: yelinkim@albany.edu



        Igor Kuznetsov

Igor Kuznetsov
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Epidemiology and Biostatistics


Expert in the following: bioinformatics, computational genomics, protein informatics, and genomic data integration.
Campus phone: 518-402-0415
Campus email: ikuznetsov@albany.edu



        Catherine Lawson

Catherine Lawson
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Geography and Planning


Expert in the following: Urban Transportation Data and Information Systems; freight planning; travel behavior and time use; water transport; hazardous materials transport; microsimulation and GIS applications; Big Data
Campus phone: 442-4775
Campus email: lawsonc@albany.edu



        Martin Manjak

Martin Manjak
University at Albany
Department: Information Technology Services


Expert in the following: Cybersecurity, malware, information technology
Campus phone: 518-956-8150
Campus email: mmanjak@albany.edu



        Amirreza Masoumzadeh

Amirreza Masoumzadeh
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Computer Science


Expert in the following: Information security and privacy; social media data sharing; data sharing and location-bases services; access control policy models and privacy-preserving data sharing
Campus phone: (518) 437-4950
Campus email: amasoumzadeh@albany.edu



        Brian Nussbaum

Brian Nussbaum
College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity
Assistant Professor
Department: Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity


Expert in the following: Cybersecurity and cyber threats; terrorism and terrorism analysis; homeland security; risk and intelligence analysis; critical infrastructure protection; urban security; smart cities
Campus phone: (518) 442-5238
Campus email: bnussbaum@albany.edu



        Shaghayegh Sahebi

Shaghayegh Sahebi
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Computer Science


Expert in the following: Human-centered data mining including educational data mining, recommender and personalization systems, and user modeling
Campus phone: (518) 437-4950
Campus email: ssahebi@albany.edu



        Peter Shea

Peter Shea
School of Education
Associate Professor
Department: Educational Theory and Practice


Expert in the following: higher education; online learning; k-12 education
Campus phone: 442-4009
Campus email: pshea@albany.edu



        Tolga Soyata

Tolga Soyata
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: https://www.albany.edu/computerengineering


Expert in the following: Cyber physical systems; digital health; GPU-based high-performance computing
Campus phone: (585) 764-8043
Campus email: tsoyata@albany.edu



        Tomek  Strzalkowski

Tomek Strzalkowski
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Professor
Department: Computer Science


Expert in the following: Information intelligence; tracking information about terrorists
Campus phone: (518) 442-2608
Campus email: tomek@albany.edu



        Mariya Zheleva

Mariya Zheleva
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: Computer Science


Expert in the following: Wireless networks for infrastructure-challenged regions; wireless network monitoring; text messaging; cellular networks; network connectivity; smart phones
Campus phone: (518) 437-4941
Campus email: mzheleva@albany.edu



        Daphney-Stavroula Zois

Daphney-Stavroula Zois
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: https://www.albany.edu/computerengineering


Expert in the following: E-health; Cyberbullying Detection; Intelligent Transportation; Smart and Connected Communities
Campus phone: (518) 442-5086
Campus email: dzois@albany.edu