Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty
Associate Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 132F
Scattering theory, semi-classical analysis, the Aharonov-Bohm effect
Assistant Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 136B
PDEs and harmonic analysis
Assistant Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 120C
Applied topology and (co)sheaf theory
Assistant Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 128D
Machine learning and statistical learning theory
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Earth Science and Mathematics 115
Algebraic and geometric topology, K-theory, geometric group theory, topological data analysis, data science
Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 137A
Probability on finite groups, combinatorics
Associate Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 136C
Harmonic analysis and operator theory
Assistant Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 128C
Operator theory, complex analysis
Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 116A
Algebraic combinatorics, combinatorial representation theory, combinatorial algebraic geometry and formal group laws
Assistant Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 120D
Applied topology
Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 123A
Vertex operator algebras, conformal field theory, modular forms
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Earth Science and Mathematics 123B
Low-dimensional topology and geometry, knot theory, transformation groups, combinatorial group theory
Associate Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 132D
Ergodic theory, analysis and probability
Associate Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 319B
Statistical Inference
Assistant Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 110
Stochastic, applied, and computational geometry and topology, with applications to materials science, physics, and biology
Associate Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 319A
Algebraic number theory, algebra, arithmetic geometry
Professor and Chair
Earth Science and Mathematics 110
Complex analysis, operator theory, approximation theory
Associate Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 137B
Commutative algebra, homological algebra, algebraic geometry
Associate Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 120B
Algebraic and geometric topology, homotopy theory, algebraic K-theory
Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 319C
Functional analysis, group representations, mathematical physics
Assistant Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 114
Computational mathematics, machine learning, data science
Associate Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 128B
Machine learning, statistical learning theory, optimization for big data, harmonic analysis
Assistant Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 136A
Geometric group theory
Assistant Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 116B
Algebraic K-theory and motivic cohomology, cohomology of flag varieties and Schubert calculus
Professor
Earth Science and Mathematics 128E
Functional analysis, complex analysis, operator theory
tenure
Teaching Faculty
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 132B
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 132E
teaching
Adjunct Faculty
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 136E
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 151A
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 136E
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 132A
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 132G
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 128A
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 132H
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 210
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 209
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 151A
Lecturer
Earth Science and Mathematics 210
adjunct

PhD Students

Eli Bashwinger
Earth Science and Mathematics 239
ebashwinger@albany.edu

Roy Cardenas
Earth Science and Mathematics 128F
rcardenas@albany.edu

Robert Cardona
Earth Science and Mathematics 239
rlcardona@albany.edu

Jordan DeSha
Earth Science and Mathematics 120A
jdesha@albany.edu

Robby Green
rgreen@albany.edu

John Habib
jhabib@albany.edu

Jason Howell
Earth Science and Mathematics 239
jrhowell@albany.edu

Jennifer Hults
Earth Science and Mathematics 132A
jhults@albany.edu

Kate Keukelaar
Earth Science and Mathematics 239
kkeukelaar@albany.edu

Tung Lam
Earth Science and Mathematics 239
tlam@albany.edu

Chris Lange
clange@albany.edu

Khoi (Roy) Le
kle@albany.edu

Jean-Paul LeBlanc
Earth Science and Mathematics 213
jpleblanc@albany.edu

Douglas Lenseth
Earth Science and Mathematics 120F
dlenseth@albany.edu

Hao Li
Earth Science and Mathematics 209
hli29@albany.edu

Antoine Love
Earth Science and Mathematics 239
tlove@albany.edu

Michael Muller
Earth Science and Mathematics 145
mmmuller@albany.edu

Mikaela Park
Earth Science and Mathematics 213
mpark4@albany.edu

Thomas Peebles
Earth Science and Mathematics 120A
tpeebles@albany.edu

Brian Rich
Earth Science and Mathematics 209
brich@albany.edu

Kevin Root
Earth Science and Mathematics 145
kroot@albany.edu

Adam Schultze
Earth Science and Mathematics 120F
alschultze@albany.edu

Effie Shani
eshani@albany.edu

Robert Spahn
Earth Science and Mathematics 239
rspahn@albany.edu

Samuel Spellman
Earth Science and Mathematics 239
sspellman@albany.edu

Zheyu Sun
zsun5@albany.edu

Ruogu Wang
Earth Science and Mathematics 239
rgwang@albany.edu

Alea Wittig
Earth Science and Mathematics 213
awittig@albany.edu

Zhenhuan (Neyo) Yang
Earth Science and Mathematics 128A
zyang6@albany.edu
Personal Webpage

Kristoffe Zehr
kzehr@albany.edu

 

phd

Retired Faculty

Guy Allaud, PhD, 1961, University of Wisconsin
General topology and homotopy theory, fibrations and classifying spaces, abstract homotopy

Louis Brickman, PhD, 1959, University of Pennsylvania
At UAlbany 1967-1996
Complex analysis

Herbert I. Brown, PhD, 1966, Rutgers University
Functional Analysis with applications to summability, FK topologies, algebras of bounded linear operators on certain sequence spaces

Lindsay N. Childs, PhD, 1966, Cornell University
At UAlbany 1968-2012
Algebras, extensions of rings acted upon by finite groups or Hopf algebras, connections with algebraic number theory. Email: childs@albany.edu

Edward D. Davis, PhD, 1961, University of Chicago
At UAlbany 1968-1998
Commutative algebra: Noetherian rings of geometric, algebraic or arithmetic type; polynomial and power series algebras over such rings

Nathaniel A. Friedman, PhD, 1964, Brown University
At UAlbany 1968-2000
Isomorphism problems in ergodic theory, higher order mixing, higher order sweeping out, mixing on sequences, sweeping out on sequences

Richard Z. Goldstein, PhD, 1966, University of Pennsylvania
PL and geometric topology, topological graph theory, combinatorial group theory. Email: richardg@albany.edu

William F. Hammond, PhD, 1965, Johns Hopkins University
Number theory and algebraic geometry, theta functions, Hilbert modular surfaces. Email: hammond@albany.edu

Benton N. Jamison, PhD, 1960, University of California, Berkeley
Markov processes, time series

Melvin Katz, PhD, 1959, University of California, Berkeley
Central limit theorem

Boris Korenblum, ScD, Moscow State University
Analytic and harmonic functions in the disc, zero sets, boundary distributions, factorization, structure of closed ideals

Timothy L. Lance, PhD, 1973, Princeton University
At UAlbany 1974-2010
Geometric topology, group actions on manifolds, cobordism theory, smoothing theory, homotopy theory of classifying spaces, applications to number theory, non-linear similarity. Email: lance@albany.edu

Lloyd L. Lininger, PhD, 1964, University of Iowa
Statistical theory, survival distributions, analysis of clinical trials

Thomas H. MacGregor, PhD, 1961, University of Pennsylvania
Classical complex analysis, geometric function theory; specialty: extreme points and extremal problems for families of univalent functions

George E. Martin, PhD, 1964, University of Michigan
At UAlbany 1967-1998
Tiling, foundations of geometry

Ricardo Nirenberg, PhD, 1966, New York University
Several complex variables, real submanifolds of complex manifolds, partial differential equations

Hajimu Ogawa, PhD, 1961, University of California, Berkeley
Differential equations

R. Michael Range, PhD, 1971, University of California, Los Angeles
At UAlbany 1973-2015
Several complex variables: integral representations, the Cauchy-Riemann complex and the d-bar-Neumann problem, pseudoconvexity, algebras of holomorphic functions

Malcolm J. Sherman, PhD, 1964, University of California, Berkeley
Associate Professor Emeritus
Mathematical statistics, actuarial mathematics, operator theory, public policy and civil rights, msherman@albany.edu

Edward C. Turner, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
PL and smooth topology, combinatorial group theory

Donald R. Wilken, PhD, 1965, Tulane University
At UAlbany 1968-2010
Extremal problems of families of univalent functions, algebras of analytic functions

 

In Memoriam

Richard C. O'Neil (1930-2019), Ph.D., 1960, University of Chicago
At UAlbany 1968-2006
Real analysis and integration theory, inequalities, rearrangement-invariant function spaces, interpolation of operators

Mark Steinberger (1950-2018), Ph.D., University of Chicago
At UAlbany 1987-2018
Algebraic and geometric topology, group actions on manifolds, the nonlinear similarity problem, surgery theory, algebraic K-theory, homotopy theory

Edward Thomas (1937-2016), Ph.D., 1964, University of California, Riverside
At UAlbany 1969-2016

retired