Bernadette Socha 
Administrative Assistant
[email protected]


Trevor Kahlbaugh 
Piano Accompanist 
[email protected]


Kent Shultz
Piano Technician
[email protected]

Music Emeriti Faculty
Victoria von Arx
Associate Professor, Emeritus
Albin Zak
Professor, Emeritus

Professor James R. Morris, D.M.A.
University of Southern California

Associate Professor R. Findlay Cockrell, M.S. (Collins Fellow)
Juilliard School of Music

Associate Professor K. Drew Hartzell Jr., PhD
University of Rochester

Associate Professor Reed Hoyt, PhD
University of Pennsylvania

In Memoriam

Joel A. Chadabe (1938-2021), MM, Yale University
At University at Albany 1965-1997
Professor and Founder of the Electronic Music Studio & The Free Music Store

David Griggs-Janower (1952-2013), DM, Indiana University School of Music
At University at Albany 1981-2013
Professor and Director of Choral Music



Theatre Full-Time Faculty
Andi Lyons
Professor, Resident Lighting Designer
Eszter Szalczer
Professor, Head of History, Literature & Criticism
Kathryn Walat
Associate Professor, Theatre Program Director, Resident Playwright
Anne Croteau
Visiting Assistant Professor, Costumes
Ryan Garbayo
Visiting Assistant Professor, Acting
Nora Marlow Smith
Visiting Assistant Professor, Scenic Design
Shaun Patrick Tubbs
Visiting Assistant Professor, Directing


John Knapp
Scene Shop Supervisor
[email protected]

Mark Schrom
Point of Contact
[email protected]


Theatre Emeriti

Associate Professor Robert J. Donnelly
Yale University, MFA