WGSS Concludes Academic Year with Spring Celebration

WGSS graduate and undergraduate students are honored during the Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies Spring Celebration May 1, 2024.
UAlbany students are honored during the Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies Spring Celebration May 1, 2024.

WGSS students, staff, faculty and friends of the department gathered May 1, 2024 to honor their graduating class, the Teaching Collective, student interns, community partners and award recipients. The group celebrated with student speeches, music, light refreshments and a wonderful sense of community. Congratulations to graduating students and awardees!

2024 WGSS Department Student Awards

Congratulations to:

  • Melody Palmer, winner of the Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Award
  • Holly Guldenzopf, winner of the Dr. Vivien Ng LGBTQ Studies Award
  • Toni Tudor, winner of the Stoneman-Van Vranken Scholarship
  • Katherine Owens, winner of the Candace J. Groudine, PhD ‘98 Women's Studies Scholarship
  • Ciarra Medrano, winner of the Arlene E. Ray Memorial Scholarship Award
  • Bria Nickerson and Lynn Ríos Rivera, winners of the Outstanding Graduate Student Award


2024 Lavender Awards

WGSS is proud that faculty and students associated with our department have been selected as recipients of the 2024 Lavender Awards. These awards recognize Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer and Allied Faculty, Staff and Students for their efforts in promoting LGBTQ+ Equity.

Congratulations to:

  • Jedidah Pacheco (WGSS major)
  • Melody Palmer (WGSS major/Library Ambassador)
  • Lynn Ríos Rivera (WGSS MA student)
  • Deborah LaFond (University Libraries/WGSS Bibliographer)
  • Dr. Allison V. Craig (Writing and Critical Inquiry/WGSS Affiliated faculty)
  • Dr. Joanne Kaufman (Sociology/WGSS Joint faculty).


2024 President's Award for Leadership

Congratulations to Bria Nickerson, a recipient of the President’s Award for Leadership - Academic Leadership Award. This university wide award recognizes student leadership in academic settings.


2024 College of Arts and Sciences Excellence Through Diversity Award

Congratulations to Dr. Janell Hobson, the inaugural recipient of CAS Excellence Through Diversity Award. This honor is given to faculty members who are leaders in promoting diversity, inclusion, equity, and belonging in our College through their academic research, teaching and mentoring, service, and/or community and other forms of engagement.