PhD Student Tina Peabody wins 2021 Vernon Carstensen Memorial Award for Best Article in Agricultural History

Tina Peabody headshot

The award is named for Vernon Carstensen, born in Iowa in 1907 and educated at the Iowa State Teachers College (BA and MA) and the University of Iowa (PhD, 1936). While a professor at Central Washington College, he also served as a historian for the War Department during World War II. After the war, Carstensen taught at the University of Wisconsin and the University of Washington. He wrote several books on agricultural history and served as president of the Agricultural History Society from 1958 to 1959 and president of the Western History Association in 1981. He passed away in 1992. Since 1980, the Agricultural History Society has given the Carstensen Memorial Award to the best article published in Agricultural History. The Carstensen Memorial Award committee is comprised of: 2021-Kellen Backer, chair; 2022-Nancy Berlage; 2023-Cherisse Jones-Branch.