President's Excellence Awards

December 4, 2020

Dear Colleagues:

I am pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 President’s Excellence Awards and the 2019-2020 SUNY Chancellor’s Excellence Awards. The Excellence Awards recognize members of the faculty and staff who are exemplars of the outstanding performance expected of all University employees. This year’s honorees include:

President’s Excellence Award in Teaching:
Abigail Kleinsmith, Department of Psychology
Andrea Kordzek, School of Criminal Justice
Christopher Pastore, Department of History
Christine Vassallo-Oby, Latin American, Caribbean & U.S. Latino Studies/Academic Support Center

Chancellor’s Excellence Award in Teaching:
Danny Goodwin, Department of Art and Art History

President’s Excellence Award in Research and Creative Activities:
Dolores Cimini, Center for Behavioral Health Promotion & Applied Research
Christine Wagner, Department of Psychology

Chancellor’s Excellence Award in Research and Creative Activities:
J. Ramon Gil-Garcia, Department of Public Administration & Policy
John Schwaller, Department of History

President’s Excellence Award in Professional Service:
Noelle Angelozzi, Office of Financial Management & Budget
Brad Bunzey, Office of Architecture, Engineering & Construction
Ann Gunning, University Libraries
Jason Jones, Office of Parking & Mass Transit Services
Mary Kay Skrabalak, Educational Opportunity Program
Barbara Zampella, Department of Atmospheric & Environmental Sciences

Chancellor’s Excellence Award in Professional Service:
Peter Recore-Migirditch, University Libraries

President’s Excellence Award in Librarianship:
Rebecca Nous, University Libraries

Chancellor’s Excellence Award in Librarianship:
Sue Kaczor, University Libraries

President’s Excellence Award in Support Service:
Marlene Bauman, Residential Life
John McGuire, University Police Department
Alina Mikula, Facilities Management
Kim Nava, Writing & Critical Inquiry Program

President’s Excellence Award in Academic Service:
Joette Stefl-Mabry, College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security & Cybersecurity

Please join me in congratulating our colleagues on their outstanding accomplishments. We are truly honored to have such distinguished colleagues at UAlbany, and we celebrate their contributions and success.

In addition, let me take this opportunity to encourage you to nominate other colleagues for the 2020-2021 President’s Excellence Awards. The following categories are available:

  • Excellence in Research and Creative Activities;
  • Excellence in Teaching (in three categories including Full-Time Tenure-Track Faculty, Part-Time or Full-Time Non-Tenure-Track Faculty, Teaching Assistants);
  • Excellence in Academic Service by Teaching Faculty;
  • Excellence in Librarianship;
  • Excellence in Professional Service (in two categories including Full-Time Professional Staff and Part-Time Professional Staff); and
  • Excellence in Support Service by Classified Staff.

The 2021 Excellence Award nominations in all categories are due February 8, 2021. Recipients of the President’s Excellence Awards are considered for nomination for the SUNY Chancellor’s Excellence Award in applicable categories. For additional details on the President’s Excellence Awards, please visit our Awards & Honors webpage.



Havidán Rodríguez