Anthropology Graduate Student Organization

Follow us on Facebook and join us on MyInvolvement for more information on upcoming events!

The Anthropology Graduate Student Organization (AGSO) provides anthropology graduate students with a unified voice within the Department and University. It is an opportunity for us to organize and engage in activities beyond those of studying, attending class, and fulfilling other academic and professional responsibilities. Activities and events include the AGSO Symposium, professional development workshops, and assistance with the Anthropology Department Speakers Series.

Incoming students often find themselves a bit confused as to what is expected of them when they begin graduate work in Anthropology at UAlbany. Incoming students may contact any of the following officers in the AGSO to be added to the listserv, in order to receive necessary graduate and departmental information.

 

List of Officers 2019-2020

President
Ingrid-Morgane Gauvin
ggauvin@albany.edu

Vice President
Lauren Prosper
lprosper@albany.edu

Secretary
Hannah Noblewolf
hnoblewolf@albany.edu

Speaker Reception Chair
Holly Cruger
hcruger@albany.edu

Webmaster
Jamilläh Rodriguez
jrodriguez20@albany.edu

AGSO GSA Representative
Loretta Tucker
ltucker@albany.edu

Current Anthropology Graduate Students
Archaeology

Caroline Antonelli

Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: cantonelli@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: agricultural intensification, human & environment interactions, geoarchaeology, geographical information systems (GIS) applications
 



Jeff Bryant

Advisor: Dr. Robert Rosenswig
Email: jeffbryantarch@gmail.com
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
 



Holly Cruger

AdvisorDr. Sean Rafferty
Emailhcruger@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeastern America

 



Josalyn M. Ferguson

Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: jferguson@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: Maya Prehistory, the Terminal Classic, migration, cave use, architecture, ceramics
 



John Garbellano

AdvisorDr. Christopher Wolff
Emailjgarbellano@albany.edu
 



Ingrid-Morgane Gauvin

Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: ggauvin@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America
 


 

Vivian S. James

Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: vjames@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America
Research Interests: Woodland and Colonial Periods, zooarchaeology, faunal domestication, GIS


 

Matthew Kirk

AdvisorDr. Robert Rosenswig
Email: mkirk@albany.edu


 

Antonio Martinez Tunon

Advisor: Dr. Robert Rosenswig
Email: amartineztunon@albany.edu


 

Steve Moragne

Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: smoragne@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America
Research Interests: microartifacts, soil chemistry, spatial analysis, public outreach and education



Holly Neville

Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: hneville@albany.edu
Research Interests: Maya Epigraphy
 


 

Cody Ng

Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: cng2@albany.edu



Yahaira Nuñez Cortes

Advisor: Dr. Robert Rosenswig
Email: ynunez-cortes@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Lower Central America
Research Interests: ceramics, trade, interaction spheres
 


 

Kristy Primeau

Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: kprimeau@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America
Research Interests: GIS



Amanda Samuels

Advisor: Dr. Christopher Wolff
Email: asamuels@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast US
Research Interests: Northeastern Archaeology, Lithics, Subsistence Patterns, Social Hierarchy, Trade, Lithics in Ritual Use 


 

Alyse Strohmeyer

Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: astrohmeyer@albany.edu



Loretta Tucker

Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: ltucker@albany.edu
 



Jessica Vavrasek

Advisor:Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: jvavrasek@albany.edu
Regional Focus:Northeast North America
Research Interests: St. Lawrence Iroquois, zooarchaeology
 



Dana Yakabowskas

Advisor: Dr. Chistopher Wolff
Email: dyakabowskas@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America; Newfoundland, Canada
Research Interests: Maritime Archaic, Precontact, Geoarchaeology, Debitage Analysis, Ground Slate Tools

 

Biological Anthropology

Elizabeth Holdsworth

Advisor: Dr. Lawrence Schell
Email: eholdsworth@albany.edu
Research Interests: biocultural anthropology, psychosocial stress, human growth and development, health disparities
 


Florence Lee

Advisor: Dr. Lawrence Schell 
Email: flee2@albany.edu


Venus Lliguicota

Advisor: Dr. Cara Ocobock
Email: vlliguicota@albany.edu


Kyrie Nelder

Advisor: Dr. Lawrence Schell
Email:knelder@albany.edu
Research Interests: psychosocial stressors, human growth and development, health disparities



Antonio Rafael Otero

Advisor: Dr. Adam Gordon

Email: aotero@albany.edu

Research interests: Functional morphology, paleoanthropology, skeletal biology, hominin evolution, primate and hominid locomotion


Erin O’Neill Regan

Advisor: Dr. Timothy Gage
Email: eoneill@albany.edu


Jerred Schafer

Advisor: Dr. Adam Gordon
Email: jkschafer@albany.edu
 


Erica Tyler

Advisor: Dr. Lawrence Schell
Email: etyler@albany.edu
 


Casey N. West

AdvisorDr. Lawrence Schell
Emailcwest@albany.edu
Research Area: Northeast U.S.


Ajay Yesupriya

Advisor: Dr. Timothy Gage
Email: ayesupriya@albany.edu

Cultural Anthropology

Sarah Appelhans

Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: sappelhans@albany.edu
Research Interests: anthropology of science, gender, & work
 



Alejandro Arango-Londoño

Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: aarangolondono@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Colombia, Latin America 
Research Interests: medical anthropology, gender, political economy, anthropology of the body
 


 

Kaori Otera Chen

Advisor: Dr. Walter Little
Email: kchen3@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast US, Japan
Research Interests: Weaving, Women artisans, Quilting, Material Culture 


 

Jennifer Crowley

Advisor: Dr. Walter Little
Email: jcrowley@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northern Ireland
Research Interests: political economy, cultural performance, symbolic representation



Abelardo de la Cruz de la Cruz

Advisor: Dr. Louise Burkhart
Email: adelacruzdelacruz@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Huasteca Region, Veracruz, Mexico
Research Interests: Nahua religion, Mexican Catholicism and Protestantism and Nahua culture


 

Claire Drake



Lauren Effinger

Advisor:Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: leffinger@albany.edu
 



Michalina Grzelka

Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: mgrzelka@albany.edu
 


 

Aisha Kearney

AdvisorDr. Walter Little
Emailaishana84@yahoo.com
Regional Focus: Northeast U.S. 



Ramon Lee

Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: rlee3@albany.edu
Regional Focus: North America
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, psychological anthropology, critical race theory, gender, ethnohistory
 



Aphizetl Lemus Medina

Advisor: Dr. Louise Burkhart
Email: alemusmedina@albany.edu
 


 

Ryan Levy

Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Burrell
Email: rlevy@albany.edu
Research Interests: medical anthropology, sexuality, HIV/AIDS, urban anthropology
 



Cathlo Morton

Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya 
Email: cmorton@albany.edu
 



Christa Mylin

Advisor: Dr. Louise Burkhart
Email: cmylin@albany.edu
Research Interests: anthropology of religion
 



Marie Peterson

Advisor: Dr. Louise Burkhart
Email: mapeterson@albany.edu

Research Interests: Localized religious practices, religious material culture, syncretism, indigeneity, community relations, political protest movements


 

Jimmy Powell

Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Burrell
Email: jcpowell@albany.edu


 

Catlin Renaud

Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: crenaud@albany.edu



Jessica Somers

Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: jsomers@albany.edu
Research Interests: biocultural/medical anthropology, applied anthropology, medical knowledge, Lyme disease
 


 

Casandra Walker

Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: cmwalker@albany.edu
Research Interests: biocultural anthropology

 



Heungtae Yang

Advisor: Dr. Louise Burkhart
Email: yhtbtn@gmail.com
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica

Linguistics

Lisabeth G. Dashman

Advisor: Dr. James Collins
Email: lisa.dashman@gmail.com
Regional Focus: Americas
Research Interests: Metaphors, Speech Markers, Linguistic Landscape, Humor
 



Rebecca Dinkel

Advisor: Dr. John Justeson
Email: bdinkel@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: Mesoamerican languages, writing systems, & art
 


 

Sharone Horowit-Hendler

Advisor: Dr. James Collins
Email: shorowit-hendler@albany.edu
Research Interests: gender & sexuality


 

Saeid Kamrani

Advisor: Dr. Aaron Broadwell
Email: skamrani@albany.edu


 

Hannah Noblewolf

Advisor: Dr. James Collins

Email: hnoblewolf@albany.edu

Research interests: Reproductive rights, discourse analysis, Pro-life rhetoric, gender



Isabelle Poitras

Advisor: Dr. John Justeson
Email: mailto:ipoitras@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: language documentation, Tseltal, Classic Mayan Script, linguistic relativity
 



Jamilläh Rodriguez

Advisor: Dr. Lauren Clemens
Email: jrodriguez20@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica (Otomanguean)
Research Interests: Phonology, syntax, grammatical tone, language documentation, Copala Triqui, tonosyntax, diaspora linguistics