Foundation Leadership

Board, Leadership and Staff

The University at Albany Foundation board of directors, comprised of alumni, community and University representatives, is responsible for governance of the Foundation. The executive director reports regularly to the board and is responsible for the management of all Foundation funds. The Foundation operates consistent with the policies of the University at Albany, State University of New York. However, the directors are independent of New York State and of SUNY in the exercise of their fiduciary responsibilities.

Board of Directors

George R. Hearst III
Publisher, Times Union

Vice President   

Lewis S. Wiener '84
Partner. Eversheds Sutherland LLP


Jeffrey H. Black, CPA ’76
Vice Chair (ret.), Deloitte


Brian Straughter, EdD
President, Turf Hotels


Nolan T. Altman, CPA ’77
NTA Consulting

Michael J. Borys, ’78, ’79
Vice President (ret.), The Goldman Sachs Group

Peter E. Bulger ’77
Principle, TIA Group

Michael J. Castellana ’84, ’92
President & CEO, Broadview

Saul Curtis ’81
Partner (ret.), PwC

Kathleen A. Dennis, ’75
President & Founder, Cedarwood Associates

Louis A. Desorbo ’78, ’80
President (ret.), WERCS Ltd.

Elda A. Di Re ’83
Partner (ret.), Ernest & Young

Lisa Fund ’05
Senior Vice President, Goldman Sachs

Mary P. Haggerty ’82

Keith S. Hynes ’74
CFO (ret.), Max Re Capital Ltd

Sharon R. Kantor ’73 PhD, Esq.
The Firenza Group, Ltd., LLC

Amy Knapp ’97
Partner & COO, Corsair Capital

Roanne M. Kulakoff, ’81
Partner (ret.), Kekst and Company

William A. Lanford, PhD
Professor of Physics, University at Albany

Maryanne Lavan, ’81
Senior Vice President & General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
Lockheed Martin Corporation

Meg Picotte MacClarence ’02

John Oliver Naumann
CEO, Simmons Machine Tool Corporation

William Newman ‘81
Founder & Private Wealth Advisor, The Atrium Financial Group

Daniel Nolan ’74
CEO & President, Graypoint LLC

Kavan Pujara '24
Student Representative, University at Albany

Kimberly Sanger Jones ’87
Director of Operations, E. Stewart Jones Hacker Murphy LLP

Robert W. Schwartz
Managing Director, Schwartz Heslin Group, Inc.

Rebecca Stafford '95 
Founding Partner, Hestia Venture Partners

Susan V. Shipherd ’64

Maureen Sweeney ’84
CEO, Crescent Peak

Edward P. Swyer
President, The Swyer Companies

Michael Weilheimer, ’83
Portfolio Manager & Head of High Yield Investments (ret.), Eaton Vance

Mark C. Yang ’92
President & CEO, Power Formation (Taiwan) Ltd.


Todd D. Foreman
Vice President for Finance & Administration, University at Albany

Canon Kay C. Hotaling '67, '70
Vice President, Benevolent Association

Jonathan P. Jones '05, '06
City of Albany Department of Recreation

Havidán Rodríguez
President, University at Albany

Fardin Sanai
Vice President for University Advancement
Executive Director, University at Albany Foundation

Foundation Leadership and Staff

Fardin Sanai
Vice President for University Advancement
Executive Director, University at Albany Foundation

Richard P. McGinn, Jr.
CFO/Associate Executive Director

Tara Mikropoulos
Administrative Assistant