Student Research Highlights

Katie DePalma

UAlbany Senior Selected for Research Fellowship through Microsoft, Center for Technology in Government

University at Albany student Katie De Palma has been selected as the University's first Microsoft Undergraduate Research Fellow, an initiative co-sponsored through UAlbany's Center for Technology in Government.  

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research

Elise Gervais, under direction of Melinda Larsen
National Research Service Award
May 24, 2013 – November 23, 2015

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Magdalen A. Lovell, Physics, under direction of Kevin Knuth
"FY 2011 Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF)"
May 1, 2011-September 30, 2011

NSF Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grants 2011

Jared Latimer, Anthropology, under direction of Marilyn Masson
"La Iberia: The Emergence and Development of a Secondary Site in the Linea Vieja, Costa Rica"
March 15, 2011-February 29, 2012

Kelli H. Tamvada, Anthropology, under direction of David Strait
"Biomechanical and Behavioral Significance of the Neanderthal Femur"
May 1, 2011-April 30, 2012

NSF logo 

Under the direction of Dr. Marilyn Masson, Jerald Ek, received a National Science Foundation Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grant to assist him in the completion of his dissertation. Mr. Ek was awarded $15,000 for his grant, "Times of Change: Classic to Postclassic in Champoton, Campeche". The award period is June 15, 2008 through May 31, 2009.


UAlbany freshman and her faculty mentor explore the tonology of an African language

Successful Outcomes: Research enriches the undergraduate experience at UAlbany

Laura L. FrederiksenUniversity at Albany sophomore Laura L. Fredriksen has won a competitive Goldwater Scholarship, effective for the 2006-2007 academic year. The Goldwater award, which provides $7,500 per year for undergraduate study, was established by Congress in 1986 as a way of encouraging exceptional students to pursue careers in mathematics, science, and engineering. Scholarships are awarded on academic merit. Fredriksen, a chemistry major, plans to pursue a career in biochemistry.

Professor Alain E. Kaloyeros, vice president of the College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering and the UAlbany Faculty Representative for the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship said, "This exciting announcement caps yet another successful year for UAlbany within the national competition for the prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship program. It also provides further testimony to the high academic caliber and excellent scholarly quality of UAlbany's undergraduate science students. I congratulate Ms. Fredriksen and her advisor, Professor Lednev, on such a well-deserved honor and thank the UAlbany faculty nomination committee for its hard work and deep commitment to the advancement of the university's educational and research missions."

"Winning this scholarship has motivated me even further to study hard and to work hard in my research class." Fredriksen said. "It is invigorating to hear that someone appreciates how badly I want to study science and how hard I've worked to get to where I am today."

Fredriksen, from Center Moriches, Long Island, has worked in UAlbany assistant professor of chemistry Igor Lednev's lab for three consecutive semesters on an investigation of the mechanism of amyloid fibril formations, which may be associated with neurodegenerative diseases linked with aging such as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's, as well as Lou Gehrig's disease and diabetes. Specifically, her research focuses on characterizing protein structural rearrangements using absorption and fluorescence spectroscopies. According to Lednev, her research constituted a valuable contribution to his group's recent publication in Biopolymers. Laura reported the most recent results at the American Chemical Society National Meeting in Atlanta in March 2006.

"It is very satisfying for me to see such a prestigious recognition of Laura's achievements," said Lednev. "As a rule, the best students, most successful in classes, are interested in undergraduate research. We specifically target these students with a challenging undergraduate research program, providing the opportunity for them to be exposed to an academic research environment and to apply and solidify their academic knowledge obtained in classes."

Fredriksen's was one of 323 scholarships awarded to sophomores and juniors from a highly competitive field of 1,081 nominated students studying mathematics, science, and engineering from across the U.S. and its territories.

In addition Fredriksen's award, biology major Heather Miller, working under Professor Caro-Beth Stewart, and Robert Tracey, an atmospheric science, math, and economics major studying with Professor Michael Landin, received Goldwater honorable mentions.

The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established by Public Law on November 14, 1986. The Scholarship Program honoring Senator Barry M. Goldwater was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering. The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields. In its 18-year history, the Foundation has awarded 4,885 scholarships worth approximately $48 million. The trustees plan to award some 300 scholarships for the 2007-2008 academic year.