2023 President’s Excellence Awards winners named

Winners of the President's Excellence Award for Research and Creative Activities pos, holding their certificates, with the President
President’s Excellence Award in Research and Creative Activities winners stand with President Rodríguez. From left: Satyendra Kumar, Bradley Armour-Garb, Youqin Huang, Victor Asal and Liming Zhou. Not pictured: Andrew Berglund. (Photos by Patrick Dodson)

ALBANY, N.Y. (April 13, 2023) — Select UAlbany faculty and staff were honored Tuesday with the President’s Excellence Awards, which recognize dedication, service and excellence beyond the call of duty in several categories.

Provost Carol Kim presented the awards after the president’s Spring University Address in the Campus Center West Auditorium. Recipients are:

President’s Excellence Award in Research and Creative Activities

  • Victor Asal, professor of Political Science
  • Andrew Berglund, professor of Biological Sciences and director of the RNA Institute
  • Bradley Armour-Garb, professor of Philosophy
  • Youqin Huang, professor of Geography and Planning
  • Satyendra Kumar, associate vice president for research and director of the Ion Beam Lab
  • Liming Zhou, professor of Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences
Two smiling women hold awards certificates
Winners of the 2023 President’s Excellence Award for Teaching are Christine Bozlak, left, and Amanda Spriggs.

President’s Excellence Award in Teaching

  • Christine Bozlak, associate professor of Health Policy, Management and Behavior
  • Amanda Spriggs, clinical assistant professor of Anthropology

President’s Excellence Award in Librarianship

  • Kelsey O’Brien, information literacy librarian

President’s Excellence Award in Academic Service

  • Mila Gascó-Hernandez, associate professor of Public Administration and Policy and research director for the Center for Technology in Government

President’s Excellence Award in Professional Service

  • Colleen Davis, The Graduate School
  • Michael Dzikowski, Information Technology Services
  • Tuuli Edwards, Office of Financial Management and Budget
  • Jermaine Harris, Office of Career and Professional Development
  • Tremaine Harris, Department of Residential Life
  • Carmelina Morrison, UAlbany Alumni Association
  • Dafney Amilcar-Rodriguez, Office of Student Financial Services
  • Crystal Rogers, School of Social Welfare

President’s Excellence Award in Classified Service

  • Erik Dubb, Department of Physical Plant
  • Richard Sargent, Office of Student Accounts