Annual Graduate Award Winners Announced

A composite of four Economics students posing with professors and award certificates on the UAlbany campus

Each year, the Economics Department awards graduate students for excellence in teaching and preliminary exams.

We are pleased to announce that Kyoungah Noh, Mingda Zhang and Yaxu Zhang have been named recipients of the 2023 Helen Horowitz Award. The Helen Horowitz Award for Outstanding Teaching is given to a graduate student or students who demonstrate excellence as a teacher in honor of Professor Helen Horowitz, who was one of the most respected undergraduate teachers in the university.

The department also recognizes the best performance in the preliminary exam. Each year, this honor is awarded to a rising second-year PhD student or students who excelled in the preliminary exams in microeconomics and macroeconomics. This year's award winner is Dewei Xing.

Congratulations to Kyoungah, Mingda, Yaxu and Dewei!