Anthropology Home

Welcome to the Department of Anthropology. Founded in 1966, our department fosters the study of our human species in all of its diversity through space and time: from our prehumen ancestors to contemporary global culture. No other field offers such a comprehensive approach to what it means to be human. We have faculty conducting cutting-edge research in all four sub-fields of anthropology: biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, and linguistics. Although anthropology numbers among the social sciences, students can gain an even broader training that spans the liberal arts, from natural science to religion and folklore. Anthropology's holistic orientation prepares students for a wide range of academic and career pursuits.

For undergraduates, we offer degrees in Anthropology, Linguistics and Cognitive Science, and Human Biology, and minors in Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, and Linguistics. For graduate students, we offer MA and PhD programs in Anthropology.

Check out our Facebook page!

News & Announcements

  • NEAA 2018 Student Paper Prize Winner

    Congratulations to Anthropology Graduate Student Christa Mylin for winning the M. Estellie Smith Graduate Paper Prize for her paper titled "Belonging Between Church and State: Debating Ethnic Identity Within American Mennonite Churches." According to the prize committee Christa's paper was considered "...well written and well embedded in anthropological discourse about the concept of 'belonging' in Mennonite communities..." 

  • 2018 Presidential Awards

    Dr. Sean M. Rafferty, Professor & Graduate Affairs Chair in the Department of Anthropology, has won one of this year's President's Excellence Awards. Graduating Anthropology Senior Cody Ng has won a presidential award for Undergraduate Research. These awards are given to those faculty, staff members, and students who are exemplary models of the outstanding performance expected from all University employees. 

  • 2018 Chancellor Award Winner

    Dr. Louise M. Burkhart, Professor & Department Chair of Anthropology, has won one of this year's Chancellor's Awards for Excellence, a system-level honor that recognizes consistently superior professional achievement. This award, underscores SUNY's commitment to sustaining intellectual vibrancy, advancing the boundaries of knowledge, providing the highest quality of instruction, and serving the public good.