Six Junior Faculty are Recognized for Auspicious Beginnings to Careers

Composite photo of 6 honored UAlbany junior faculty members
UAlbany's six most recently recognized junior faculty members are top row, l. to r., Cheryl Andam and Beth Feingold; middle row Sara Lance and Mariola Moeyaert; and bottom row, Daphney-Stavroula Zois and Unal Tatar.

ALBANY, N.Y. (Feb. 25, 2021) — Six honored faculty researchers still in the relative beginnings of their careers were acknowledged this month by the University.

“I am delighted to see UAlbany recognize these junior faculty members who won highly competitive and prestigious federal grants during the past year,” said Associate Vice President for Research Satyen Kumar.

“Based on my personal interaction with them, I know they will continue to advance on their path to success and establish themselves as national and international level researchers in their respective fields. We are proud and fortunate to have them among us.”

The six faculty recognized, by the six schools, colleges and centers they represent, and with their grant-award research noted, are:

  • Cheryl Andam, Biology and the RNA Institute, College of Arts & Sciences, National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award for “Unraveling the origins of genomic heterogeneity in microbial species and populations”
  • Beth Feingold, Environmental Health Sciences, School of Public Health, National Institutes of Health (NIH) Fogarty International Center International Research Scientist Development Award for “Application of novel biomarkers to measure health impacts of anthropogenic change in the Amazon”
  • Sara Lance, Atmospheric Sciences Research Center, NSF CAREER Award for “Revitalizing aerosol-cloud-chemistry research at Whiteface Mountain”
  • Mariola Moeyaert, Educational Counseling & Psychology, School of Education, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education Early Career Award for “Assessing Generalizability and Variability of Single-Case Design Effect Sizes using Multilevel Modeling Including Moderators”
  • Unal Tatar, College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cyber Security, NSF CISE Research Initiation Initiative Award for “SaTC: Graph-based Probabilistic Cyber Risk Modeling”
  • Daphney-Stavroula Zois, Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences, NSF CAREER Award for “Towards Optimized Operation of Cost-Constrained Complex Cyber-Physical-Human Systems”