Critical Language Scholarship

The Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program is part of a U.S. government effort to expand dramatically the number of Americans studying and mastering critical foreign languages. Students of diverse disciplines and majors are encouraged to apply.


  • Must be a US citizen.
  • Must be enrolled in any degree program (grad or undergraduate) and are interested in learning a critical language. For more details check their eligibility website.

The program offers the following 14 languages for 3 academic credits: Arabic, Azerbaijani, Bangla, Chinese, Hindi, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Persian, Punjabi, Russian, Swahili, Turkish and Urdu.