Mohawk Hudson Regional 2012 Mohawk Hudson Regional 2012

2012 Artists of the Mohawk Hudson Region

Juried by Nato Thompson
June 28 through September 8, 2012

2012 Artists of the Mohawk Hudson Region:
Amanda Bengle, Queensbury; Colin Boyd, Troy; Allen Bryan, Saugerties; Bennett Campbell, Albany; Paul Chapman, Hudson Falls; Yaminay Nasir Chaudhri, Niskayuna; Mandi Coburn, Rotterdam; Peter Crabtree, North Bennington; Chris DeMarco, Albany; Abraham Ferraro, Albany; Sarah Fuhrman, Latham; Mimi Czajka Graminski, Red Hook; Sarah Haze, Albany; David Hopkins, Albany; William Jaeger, Albany; Pooh Kaye, Worcester; Tatana Kellner, Kingston; Ingrid Ludt, Clifton Park; Warren MacMillan, Mark McCarty, Troy; Albany; Nathan Meltz, Troy; Sanford Mirling, Troy; Gina Occhiogrosso, Troy; Philip J. Palmieri, Loudonville; Penny Perkins, Delmar; Linda Pinkans, Niskayuna; Alana Sparrow, Cohoes; Pamela Wallace, Germantown; Sandra Wimer, Delmar; and Allen Yates, Greenwich.

The Regional
The 2012 Artists of the Mohawk Hudson Region Juried Exhibition will be held June 28 through September 8 at the University Art Museum, University at Albany. This annual exhibition is collaboratively sponsored by the University Art Museum, the Albany Institute of History & Art, and The Hyde Collection, Glens Falls.

Nato Thompson is a curator at the New York-based public arts institution Creative Time. Since January 2007, Nato has organized major projects for Creative Time such as Democracy in America: The National Campaign (2008); Paul Chan’s acclaimed Waiting for Godot in New Orleans (2007); and Mike Nelson’s A Psychic Vacuum. Previously, he was curator at MASS MoCA, North Adams, Massachusetts, where he organized numerous large-scale exhibitions, among them The Interventionists: Art in the Social Sphere (2004), a survey of political art of the 1990’s. He recently curated the exhibition Experimental Geography for Independent Curators International. His writings have appeared in numerous publications including BookForum, Art Journal, tema celeste, Parkett, and Cabinet. The College Art Association awarded him for distinguished writing in 2004.


Juror’s Awards

Yaminay Nasir Chaudhri  The Swyer Companies $1,000 Juror’s Award
Tatana Kellner Times Union $500 Juror’s Award
Chris DeMarco —Picotte Companies $500 Juror’s Award
Abraham Ferraro —Ann Marie Franke $500 Juror’s Award
Sanford Mirling —$500 Juror’s Award by an anonymous donor
Sarah Haze—Marijo Dougherty and Norman Bauman $500 Juror’s Award
in memory of Nancy Hyatt Liddle
Allen Yates—Alvarez Dental $300 Juror’s Award
in honor of Marijo Dougherty
Pooh Kaye—JKDorgan Arts $250 Juror’s Award
Linda Pinkans—Austin & Co., Inc. $250 Juror’s Award
Warren MacMillan—Spectrum 8 Theatres/New World Bistro Bar $250 Juror’s Award
Colin Boyd—Mayor Gerald D. Jennings $250 Juror’s Award
Bennett Campbell—Albany Center Gallery Board of Directors $200 Juror’s Award
in memory of Les Urbach
William Jaeger—Renaissance Corporation of Albany $200 Juror’s Award
Mimi Czajka Graminski—Carrie Haddad Gallery $100 Juror’s Award


Gift Certificate

Mark McCarty—Arlene’s Artist Materials $200 Gift Certificate
Mandi Coburn—McGreevy ProLab $150 Gift Certificate
Allen Bryan—A. Grindle Custom Framing $100 Gift Certificate
Alana Sparrow—Clement Frame Shop & Art Gallery $100 Gift Certificate


Purchase Award Sponsors

Albany Institute of History & Art Purchase Award
Colin BoydAmerican Bison

The Hyde Collection Purchase Award
Pooh KayeSpring Cleaning

Arthur Collins ’48 Purchase Award, supported by the UAlbany Alumni Association for the University Art Museum
Allen YatesLanyard; Treadmill; Bang, Crash, Clap; Trippy Spin; Beachhead


Invitational Exhibition
An invitational exhibition will be drawn from 2012 Artists of the Mohawk Hudson Region and presented at the Albany Center Gallery.

2012 Artists of the Mohawk Hudson Region
2012, softcover, 38 pages, 7 ½ x 7 ½ inches, 55 color images. Acknowledgments by Janet Riker, essay by Nato Thompson.
ISBN: 9780910763431
Price: $13.00

Thank You!

Every artist who enters the 2012 Artists of the Mohawk Hudson Region Juried Exhibition, whether selected for exhibition or not, contributes to its success and to the Capital Region’s reputation as an active and vital arts community.

The museum is grateful to the following for their support of the exhibition and catalogue: UAlbany Office of the President and the UAlbany Office of the Provost, The University at Albany Foundation, the UAlbany Alumni Association through the Grandma Moses Fund, University Auxiliary Services, The Community Foundation for the Capital Region’s Nancy Hyatt Liddle Fund for the Arts, the Ellsworth Kelly Foundation, Accent Commercial Furniture, Inc., Carol F. Bullard, and Stevi & William H. Swire. In-kind support was provided by Gary David Gold Photography and New York Press & Graphics.