Dawn Bleyenburg

Dawn Bleyenburg

Center for Public Health Continuing Education

MS, Indiana University

BS, Indiana University

Master Certified Health Education Specialist (MCHES)

Dawn Bleyenburg

Dawn Bleyenburg is the Director of the Center for Public Health Continuing Education (CPHCE) at the University at Albany School of Public Health. She joined CPHCE in December of 2004 as a Training Program Coordinator and was promoted to Assistant Director in 2006. She has been a Health Educator for more than 20 years, and has experience in curriculum development, training, evaluation, program planning, needs assessment, and blended learning.

She has managed several training projects including Public Health Nurse Ready, Basic Environmental Health Program, Healthy Children NY, Surveillance Training Academy, Clinical Breast Exam Skills Update, and Field Epi 101: Outbreak Investigation. Dawn spent many years working in tobacco control, first as a Tobacco Cessation & Education Specialist for Glens Falls Hospital, and a Tobacco Education Specialist for the Student Support Services Center at Capital Region BOCES in Albany, NY. Before moving to New York, Dawn was an Americorps Promise Fellow and Summer Program Director at the Ruth Lilly Health Education Center in Indianapolis, IN.

She holds a master's degree in school and college health education and a bachelor's degree in human development and family studies from Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana. She is a Master Certified Health Education Specialist, Certified Child Care Health Consultant, as well as an Expert Synchronous Producer. She is a 2010 Northeast Public Health Leadership Institute graduate. She served as Treasurer on the Executive Board for the NYS Public Health Association from July 2014 to June 2021. From 2017-2021, Dawn served a 5-year term as National Commission for Health Education Credentialing Board Director on the Division Board for Professional Preparation and Practice. She is currently serving a 5-year term for the Queensbury Union Free School District’s Board of Education, with her term expiring in 2026.