Center for the Elimination of Minority Health Disparities

Executive Commitee  |  Advisory Committee  |  Associates  |  Staff

Executive Committee

Lawrence M. Schell, Ph.D.
Department of Anthropology
Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
 Director, Center for the Elimination of Minority Health Disparities
Catherine Lawson, Ph.D.
Department of Geography and Planning,
College of Arts and Sciences
 Co-Chair, Research Committee

Thomas Begley, Ph.D.
Department of Biology and the RNA Institute,
College of Arts and Sciences 
 Co-Chair, Research Committee
Annis Golden, Ph.D.
Department of Communication,
College of Arts and Sciences
Co-Chair, Engagement Committee
Alex Pieterse, Ph.D.
Division of Counseling Psychology,
School of Education
Co-Chair, Engagement Committee
Janine Jurkowski, Ph.D.
Department of Health Policy, Management and Behavior
School of Public Health
Co-Chair, Academic Committee
Debernee Privott, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Public Engagement for CAS, Director of UHS
Co-Chair, Fellowship Committee
Elizabeth Vasquez, Ph.D.
Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
School of Public Health
Co-Chair, Fellowship Committee
Blanca Ramos, Ph.D. 
School of Social Welfare
Liaison, Amsterdam Minority Health Task Force
Greg Owens, MSW
Macedonia Baptist Church
Convener, Albany Minority Health Task Force

Advisory Committee

Francis E. Johnston University of Pennsylvania
Roberto Lewis-Fernandez NYS Psychiatric Institute
Bruce Link University of California Riverside
Darrell Wheeler Iona College


Ahmed, Rukhsana
Angelis, Janet
Appleton, Allison
Burrell, Jennifer
Boswell, James
Bozlak, Christine T.
Carpenter, David O.
Chatterji, Pinka
Chittur, Sridar
Collins, James
Durr, Marlese
Fortune , Ricky
Friedlander, Micki
Gallant, Mary
Gallo, Mia
Golden, Annis
Hastings, Julia
Horton, Hayward D.
Hosler, Akiko
Jobin-Davis, Kevin
Jones, Lani V.
Jurkowski, Janine
Krishna, Archana
Lahiri, Kajal
Law-Diao, Benita L.
Lawson, Catherine
Lin, Betty
Manganello, Jennifer
Pieterse, Alex
Porter, Cornelia
Qian, Feng
Ramos, Blanca
Schlomer, Gabriel
Tracy, Melissa
Vasquez, Elizabeth
Wagner, Christine K.
Walston, Barry D.
Wheeler, Darrell
Williams, Dwight
Yucel, Recai
Zemel, Alan

Persons wishing to become associates should contact Dr. Lawrence Schell.

Staff Support

Mia Gallo Ph.D, Research Scientist 
  Cole Melby, Community Outreach Liaison
  Casey West, Logistical Support, PhD. Candidate