News Release icon Contact: Media Relations Office (518) 956-8150


‘Our Greatest Asset’

Presidential Award Honors Staff and Faculty Excellence

Some of the 14 faculty and staff to be honored with a President's Award for Excellence are, from left, Indumathi Lnu, Victor Asal, Aran Mull, Monica Hope and Richard Schneible. 

ALBANY, N.Y. (April 7, 2017) — Fourteen UAlbany faculty and staff have named winners of this year’s President’s Excellence Awards, which honors those who are “exemplary models of the outstanding performance expected from all University employees.”

Awards are given for excellence in teaching, research and creative activities; academic, professional and support service, and librarianship. The awards will be handed out by Interim President James R. Stellar at 1 p.m. Wednesday, April 26, in the Campus Center Ballroom.

“UAlbany’s people are our greatest asset and the foundation of all of our achievements,” Stellar said. “I look forward to presenting these awards to this extraordinary group of faculty and staff.”

This year’s honorees and the categories they represent include:


Victor Asal, Political Science, associate professor of Political Science the chair of the Department of Public Administration in the Rockefeller College of Public Affairs and Policy.

Hirah Mir, a doctoral student and teaching assistant in Educational and Counseling Psychology in the School of Education.

Richard Schneible, an assistant professor of Accounting and Law in the School of Business.

Trudy Walp, a lecturer and online program manager in the Department of Literacy Teaching and Learning in the School of Education.

Research and Creative Activities:

Louise Burkhart, professor and chair of the Department of Anthropology in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Zai Liang, professor of Sociology in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Siwei Lyu, an associate professor of Computer Science in the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences.

Professional Service:

Monica Hope, senior academic advisor and Educational Opportunity Program counselor in the Office of Access and Academic Enrichment.

Indumathi Lnu, the University’s energy officer, in Facilities Management.

David Mason, director of the University Accounting Office.

Aran Mull, deputy chief of police and public information officer for the University Police Department.

Denise Szelest, director of human resources in Human Resources Management.


Mark Wolfe, curator of digital collections for the University Libraries.

Support Service:

Cynthia Endres, secretary to the dean, College of Arts and Sciences.

Ann Trudeau, head janitor in Facilities Management.

RSS Link For more news, subscribe to UAlbany's RSS headline feeds

About the University at Albany
A comprehensive public research university, the University at Albany offers more than
120 undergraduate majors and minors and 125 master's, doctoral, and graduate certificate programs. UAlbany is a leader among all New York State colleges and universities in such diverse fields as atmospheric and environmental sciences, business, criminal justice, emergency preparedness, engineering and applied sciences, informatics, public administration, social welfare, and sociology taught by an extensive roster of faculty experts. It also offers expanded academic and research opportunities for students through an affiliation with Albany Law School. With a curriculum enhanced by 600 study-abroad opportunities, UAlbany launches great careers.