Academic Calendars

Fall 2014 Academic Calendar

Complete Academic Calendar

Narrow By

Undergraduate Calendar Classes Suspended Advance Registration
Graduate Calendar Commencement/Graduation Related Dates Late Registration
Semester Courses UUP Information Drop/Add Dates
8week1 Courses Financial Liability Dates for Dropping Courses Withdrawal Dates
8week2 Courses Grading    

The Academic Calendar is subject to change at any time by official action of the University at Albany.

Printable PDF

Published on 12/11/2014

Mon, August 25

Classes begin at 8:00am

Mon, August 25

Fall 2014 Degree Application Submission Available for UNDERGRADUATE & GRADUATE students. Those students who expect to complete their degree requirements by the official degree conferral date (12/20/2014) must apply via MyUAlbany.

Mon, August 25

First day for non-UAlbany students to cross-register for courses at UAlbany

Tue, August 26

Late registration begins. Late registration fee charged.

Wed, August 27 - Thu, August 28

UUP eligible students using the ECRP waiver may register for/add 8 Week 1 course

Thu, August 28

Last day to add 8 Week 1 course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required)

Fri, August 29 - Tue, September 2

UUP eligible students using the ECRP waiver may register for/add semester length course

Sun, August 31

Last day to drop semester length and 8 Week 1 courses with 0% financial liability (view liability schedule). Note: the University fee and SEVIS fee are not refundable once classes begin.

Mon, September 1

Classes Suspended
Labor Day

Tue, September 2

Classes Resume 8:00am

Tue, September 2

Last day to add semester length course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required)

Tue, September 2

Last day to add 8 Week 1 course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required). Adding courses after this date will require a letter from the course instructor.

Tue, September 2

Last day to drop 8 Week 1 course without receiving a "W"

Sun, September 7

Last day to drop 8 Week 1 courses with 60% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Sun, September 7

Last day to drop semester length courses with 30% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Mon, September 8

Last day to formally audit semester length course (information can be found here)

Mon, September 8

Last day of late registration for the semester

Mon, September 8

Last day to add semester length course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required). Adding courses after this date will require a letter from the course instructor.

Mon, September 8

Last day to drop semester length course without receiving a "W"

Sun, September 14

Last day to drop 8 Week 1 courses with 80% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Sun, September 14

Last day to drop semester length courses with 50% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Mon, September 15

100% financial liability for dropped 8 Week 1 courses (view liability schedule)

Sun, September 21

Last day to drop semester length courses with 70% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Mon, September 22

100% financial liability for dropped semester length courses (view liability schedule)

Mon, September 22

Last day for GRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 1 course ("W" assigned)

Wed, September 24

Classes Suspended 2:35pm
Rosh Hashanah

Thu, September 25

Classes Suspended
Rosh Hashanah

Fri, September 26

Classes Resume 12:35pm

Mon, September 29

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 1 course ("W" assigned)

Mon, September 29

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for 8 Week 1 course

Fri, October 3

Classes Suspended 2:35pm
Yom Kippur

Fri, October 3

Fall 2014 UNDERGRADUATE degree applications due - submit via MyUAlbany.

Sat, October 4

Classes Suspended
Yom Kippur

Sun, October 5

Classes Resume 8:00am

Tue, October 14

Midterm Point

Tue, October 14

8 Week 1 Final examination period begins

Wed, October 15 - Fri, November 14

Advance registration for Winter 2014-2015 and Spring 2015 begins

Wed, October 15

8 Week 1 Final examination period ends

Wed, October 15

Last day of 8 Week 1 classes

Thu, October 16

8 Week 2 classes begin at 8:00am

Fri, October 17

Fall 2014 GRADUATE degree applications due - submit via MyUAlbany.

Mon, October 20 - Tue, October 21

UUP eligible students using the ECRP waiver may register for/add 8 Week 2 course

Tue, October 21

Last day for GRADUATE students to drop semester length course ("W" assigned)

Tue, October 21

Last day to add 8 Week 2 course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required)

Wed, October 22

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 courses with 0% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Thu, October 23

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 course without receiving a "W"

Thu, October 23

Last day to add 8 Week 2 course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required). Adding courses after this date will require a letter from the course instructor.

Wed, October 29

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 courses with 60% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Tue, November 4

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop semester length course ("W" assigned)

Tue, November 4

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for semester length course

Wed, November 5

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 courses with 80% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Thu, November 6

100% financial liability for dropped 8 Week 2 courses (view liability schedule)

Fri, November 7

Last day for students to make up incomplete grades from Spring 2014 or Summer 2014

Wed, November 12

Last day for GRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 2 course ("W" assigned)

Mon, November 17

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 2 course ("W" assigned)

Mon, November 17

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for 8 Week 2 course

Wed, November 26 - Sun, November 30

Classes Suspended
Thanksgiving Break

Mon, December 1

Classes Resume 8:00am

Mon, December 1

Last day for dissertation and thesis submission for Fall 2014 graduation

Sun, December 7

December 2014 Commencement Ceremony

Tue, December 9

Last day of classes

Tue, December 9

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to withdraw voluntarily from the University and receive "W" grades

Wed, December 10

Reading Day

Thu, December 11

Final examinations begin

Thu, December 18

Final examinations end

Sat, December 20

Official Degree conferral date Fall 2014