From the Podium and Beyond

By Carol Olechowski

President Obama visits College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering

CNSE Hosts a Presidential Visit

The College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering (CNSE) and its Albany NanoTech Complex attracted both national attention and presidential praise May 8 when President Barack Obama arrived for a brief visit that included a tour and a talk. Obama commended CNSE founder Alain Kaloyeros, the college and UAlbany for promoting high-tech advancements that are strengthening the economy. “You have an outstanding university. Now I want what’s happening in Albany to happen across the country,” the president noted.

View photographic highlights of the day.

Cimini Champions Change

M. Dolores Cimini

M. Dolores Cimini, Ph.D.

M. Dolores Cimini, Ph.D., has been recognized by the White House as a Champion of Change for promoting access to science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) careers for students, particularly young women, with disabilities. Cimini, assistant director for Prevention and Program Evaluation at UAlbany’s Counseling Center, co-chairs the American Psychological Association’s Women with Disabilities in STEM Education Project.

NanoCollege Student Is 2012 Goldwater Scholar

Nanoengineering major Sheila Smith is a recipient of the 2012 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, the premier undergraduate award for outstanding students in the science, engineering and math fields. The Pittstown, N.Y., native is researching new materials and processes that will enhance the speed, functionality and energy efficiency of such products as cellphones, laptops, LEDs and solar cells. Smith plans to continue her graduate studies at CNSE after earning her bachelor’s degree.

Hassaram Bakhru, Ph.D.

Hassaram Bakhru, Ph.D.

Bakhru Named Distinguished Service Professor

Longtime UAlbany faculty member Hassaram Bakhru, Ph.D., has been designated a Distinguished Service Professor, the most prestigious appointment in the SUNY system. Bakhru, who joined the UAlbany faculty in 1970, is a past chair of the physics department and has served as director of the University’s Ion Beam Laboratory for 40 years. Currently, he heads CNSE’s Nanosciences Constellation.

APA Honors Altarriba

Professor of Psychology Jeannette Altarriba was honored Aug. 3 at the American Psychological Association Convention in Orlando, Fla., with the 2012 Minority Fellowship Program’s Dalmas A. Taylor Award. The honor recognized the psychology department chair-elect, who has taught at UAlbany since 1992, for her outstanding teaching and training of ethnic minority psychologists.

Professor Jeannette Altarriba

Professor Jeannette Altarriba

Altarriba is also affiliated with the University’s Department of Latin American, Caribbean, and U.S. Latino Studies, and with the Linguistics and Cognitive Science programs.

CWGCS Partners With State Department

UAlbany’s Center for Women in Government & Civil Society (CWGCS), supported by a $60,000 U.S. Department of State Women in Public Service Project (WPSP) grant, is exploring ways to improve Uganda’s policy decisions while retaining women in public service in that country. The research, explained center director and co-principal investigator Dina Refki, “is designed to deepen our understanding of the contextual factors that affect the behavior and actions of female change agents in the Ugandan legislature.”

Giants Return to UAlbany

For a 16th season, the New York Giants returned to UAlbany’s uptown campus for summer training camp. Players arrived July 26 and began practicing the following day. They also participated in several other events, including Autograph Day (July 28) and Giants Youth Day (Aug. 8).

The Super Bowl XLVI champions headed back home Aug. 15.

Giants return to UAlbany in 2012 Fans watch UAlbany 2012 Giants Camp


Chancellor Recognizes 13 from UAlbany

Recipients of the 2011-12 Chancellor's Award for Excellence

Thirteen University at Albany faculty and staff were among a group of 289 SUNY employees receiving the 2011-12 Chancellor’s Award for Excellence from Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher in July. University President George Philip, top row, fourth from left, posed with UAlbany honorees Melissa Samuels, JoAnne Carson, Michael Jaromin, Denise Heiserman, Susan Gauss and Jane Kessler, standing; and Glenn Deane, Martin Hildebrand, Iris Berger and Odette Fung, seated. Not pictured are awardees Karyn Loscocco, Gerald Burke and Istvan Kecskes.

For more news from the University at Albany, visit the News Center.