Campus News

President Hall Gives Progress Report
(May 10, 2006)
Hall Names Endowed Professorships
President Kermit L. Hall named the first recipients of two endowed professorships at the Spring Faculty Meeting on April 26. More>>

Executive Committee Provides Answers
(May 10, 2006)
The President's Executive Committee took to the stage at the Spring Faculty Meeting on April 26, and answered questions from faculty and staff. Steve Messner, chair of the University Senate, acted as moderator. More>>

Hall Makes Environmental Sustainability a Priority
(May 10, 2006)
The new University-wide Task Force on Environmental Sustainability was introduced at the Spring Faculty Meeting on April 26. Co-chair George Robinson, an associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences who is a botanist and an ecologist, reported on the task force's progress in fulfilling its charge. More>>

O'Leary, Baginski, Fletcher Honorees
(May 10, 2006)
Vincent O'Leary, Maureen A. Baginski, and Alphonse Fletcher Jr. will receive honorary degrees at this year's Graduate Commencement Ceremony, which begins at 9 a.m. on Saturday, May 20, in the Recreation and Convocation Center. Fletcher is the keynote speaker. More>>

UAlbany Emphasizes Undergraduate Research
(May 10, 2006)
The third annual Honors Conference was held April 27-28 in the Life Sciences Building. The conference featured students who are a part of the undergraduate research initiative as well as students enrolled in the honors programs of their academic major. More>>

Buying a Home in Midtown Albany?
(May 10, 2006)
Individuals and families purchasing a home within the Midtown Homeownership Zone Phase I boundaries are still eligible to apply for a $5,000 forgivable loan toward down payment and closing costs if they are faculty members or staff of the University at Albany. More>>






























Please send questions or comments about the UAlbany News site to:



Timothy Hoff, an associate professor in the Department of Health Policy, Management, and Behavior in the School of Public Health, will be a visiting fellow at Oxford University in the coming year. He will be attending Oxford for several weeks in early summer and giving lectures and seminars on U.S. health policy, quality of care, and research methods. The programs will be for master's and doctoral students in the Said Business School and Templeton College of Management at Oxford. Hoff, who joined the University in 1998, hopes to return to Oxford in the fall to participate in a research project on the future of medicine with Oxford faculty.

Professor Mickey J. Kavanagh of the Department of Management in the School of Business was one of two recipients of the International Association for Human Resource Information Management 2006 Excellence Award at the association's annual conference in Washington, D.C., in April. In cooperation with Ed Goldmacher, Kavanagh developed the Human Resources Information Systems M.B.A. program at UAlbany, 1984-85. His research interests include performance appraisal, occupational structures, methodology, and ethics in management.

Professor Bruce Svare of the Department of Psychology has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar Grant to lecture at Chulalongkorn University in Bangkok, Thailand, during the 2006-2007 academic year, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board. Svare will teach behavioral neuroscience in the Chulalongkorn doctoral program in psychology and will assist with curriculum development in the Thai higher education system.

Professor Max Lifchitz of the Department of Music has been appointed Elena Diaz-Verson Amos Eminent Scholar in Latin American Studies at the School of Music, Center for International Education, Columbus State University in Georgia.

Leonard A. Slade Jr., professor and chair of the Department of Africana Studies, was unanimously elected by the members of the Division of Black American Literature and Culture at the Modern Language Association Convention in Philadelphia as a representative to the MLA Delegate Assembly for 2005-08.

Joseph F. Zimmerman is a co-author of Every Vote Equal: A State-Based Plan for Electing the President by National Popular Vote (Los Altos, Calif.: National Vote Press, 2006). The book examines in detail the Electoral College system for electing the President and Vice President of the United States and the instances (1824, 1876, 1888, and 2000) when the presidential candidate with the largest number of popular votes was not elected President, thereby revealing each popular vote was not equal to every other popular vote cast. Zimmerman is a professor of political science in the Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy.