University at Albany, State University of New York
Contact UAlbany Directories Calendars & Schedules Visitors Site Index Search
Admissions Academics Research IT Services Libraries Athletics







Campus News

Pryse Appointed Interim Dean

(March 4, 2005)

Marjorie Pryse


Marjorie Pryse

Professor Marjorie Pryse has been named Interim Dean of Graduate Studies. She is serving in this important leadership role on a half-time basis until a permanent dean is identified. She is also continuing half-time during this period as a professor of English and women's studies.

Pryse was selected for this assignment following an internal canvass. She brings to the post considerable experience with the academic program, with departmental administration, and with University governance. "No one is more dedicated to the institution and to our aspirations for supporting the quality and integrity of the graduate program," said Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Jeryl Mumpower in announcing the appointment.

As interim dean, Pryse provides leadership and coordination for campus-wide policies and procedures related to UAlbany's graduate academic program. This responsibility includes duties in developing and registering new degree programs, as well as in securing required approvals for revisions to existing programs and curricula. In addition, the dean is involved in formulating and executing effective strategies for student recruitment and in administering the University's systems and services for graduate admissions. Working closely with the school and college deans, the Graduate Studies dean also develops and interprets academic policies, and pursues opportunities for enhancements to the academic program and to the budgets that support graduate students. Finally, the dean adjudicates appeals and resolves other issues related to the graduate program. Pryse serves as a primary institutional contact and representative of the University's graduate program to external agencies, and as a member of the UAlbany Deans' Council, the University Senate, and the Graduate Academic Council.