University at Albany, State University of New York
Contact UAlbany Directories Calendars & Schedules Visitors Site Index Search
Admissions Academics Research IT Services Libraries Athletics


Campus News

Presidential Search is Under Way

The effort to identify and recruit a permanent successor to former UAlbany President Karen R. Hitchcock is under way.

George M. Philip, chair of UAlbany’s University Council, announced in February the selection of a search consultant and the formation of the Presidential Search Committee. The University Council is responsible for organizing the search and submitting its recommendation to the Chancellor and Trustees of the State University of New York.

Korn/Ferry International was selected as the search firm, and Nancy L. Cook, a senior client partner in the firm, is serving as the lead consultant throughout the search process.

Cook has held a series of meetings on campus at which participants were invited to share their views and discuss issues facing the institution, including future development, important presidential characteristics and campus priorities. In addition to the Presidential Search Committee itself, Cook’s sessions included instructional faculty, professional and administrative officers, students, deans, library heads, vice presidents, departmental chairs, alumni and community representatives. The consultations will lead to the preparation of a presidential position description and the text of the base advertisement to formally announce its availability.

The Presidential Search Committee, established in accordance with SUNY Presidential Search Guidelines, includes representatives from UAlbany faculty and staff, students and alumni, administration and the community. The members are: Chair George M. Philip, Esq., executive director, NYS Teachers’ Retirement System; Pierre L. Alric, executive vice president, NYS Higher Education Services Corp.; Carol Anderson, associate librarian, University Library; Katharine Briar-Lawson, dean, School of Social Welfare; John R. Fallon, Jr., Esq., partner, LeBoeuf, Lamb, Greene & MacRae, L.L.P.; Daniel Fingerman ’04, undergraduate student representative; Steven N. Fischer, CPA, president, Urbach, Kahn & Werlin Advisors, Inc.; Alain Kaloyeros, dean, School of Nanosciences and Nanoengineering; Sung Bok Kim, distinguished service professor, Department of History; Carolyn MacDonald, professor, Department of Physics; David McCaffrey, distinguished teaching professor, Department of Public
Administration and Policy; Lee McElroy, director, Department of Athletics and Recreation; R. Michael Range, professor, Department of Mathematics; Daniel C. Tomson, Esq., director, Citigroup Global Markets; Leroy E. Van Riper ’70, alumni representative; and Edelgard Wulfert, professor and chair, Department of Psychology.

A Presidential Search Office has been established and Sorrell Chesin, who serves as secretary to the University Council, is serving as Liaison Officer to provide support for the search process and its organizational structure.

Additional information is available on the Presidential Search website at: