News Home Page
News Releases
Faculty Experts
Campus Update
Campus Stock Photos
Media Relations Office


News Website


Campus News

August 16, 2006

Selective Investment Committee: The Institutional View

In mid February, the 15 faculty, staff and students comprising the Selective Investment Committee received 127 proposed Compact Planning initiatives submitted by units from across the University. Over two weeks time, each member studied all the proposals individually, then, beginning in March and extending through April, met eight times in committee, largely determining the initiatives that will receive funding support in 2006-07.

"I can't say enough about the effort and dedication exhibited by the members of the Selective Investment Committee," said Provost Herbst. "They brought hard work, discernment and a University-wide perspective to the Selective Investment process — and that was just what we were counting on."

Members of the Selective Investment Committee were:

  • Teresa Harrison, professor and chair, Communication (Chair)
  • James Acker, Distinguished Teaching Professor, Criminal Justice
  • Edna Acosta-Belen, Distinguished Professor and chair, Latin American, Caribbean, and U.S. Latino Studies
  • Steven Beditz, associate vice president for Human Resources Management
  • Marlene Belfort, Distinguished Professor, Biomedical Sciences
  • Eric Block, Distinguished Professor, Chemistry
  • Nicholas Chiuchiolo, Student Association president
  • Sharon Dawes, associate professor, Public Administration, and director, Center for Technology in Government
  • Donald Faulkner, associate professor, English, and director, NYS Writers Institute
  • Dan Levy, Distinguished Professor, Educational Administration and Policy Studies
  • Philip McCallion, professor, Social Welfare
  • Jessica Phelan, graduate student
  • John Pipkin, Distinguished Service Professor and chair, Geography and Planning
  • Leonard Slade, professor and chair, Africana Studies
  • David Smith, associate professor, Finance
  • Bruce Szelest, staff support, assistant vice president, Strategic Planning and Assessment

Please send questions or comments about the UAlbany News site to: