News Home Page
News Releases
Faculty Experts
Campus Update
Campus Stock Photos
Media Relations Office


News Website


Campus News

Selective Investment Committee Formed

(December 9, 2005)

President Kermit L. Hall and Provost Susan Herbst recently announced the appointment of the Selective Investment Committee, which will review compact planning proposals and make funding recommendations to the president and provost and to the Board of Visitors in the spring.


  • Teresa Harrison, committee chair, and professor and chair, Communication

  • James Acker, Distinguished Teaching Professor, Criminal Justice

  • Edna Acosta-Belen, Distinguished Professor and chair, Latin American, Caribbean, and U.S. Latino Studies

  • Steven Beditz, associate vice president for Human Resources Management

  • Marlene Belfort, Distinguished Professor, Biomedical Sciences

  • Eric Block, Distinguished Professor, Chemistry

  • Nicholas Chiuchiolo, Student Association president

  • Sharon Dawes, associate professor, Public Administration, and director, Center for Technology in Government

  • Donald Faulkner, associate professor, English, and director, NYS Writers Institute

  • Dan Levy, Distinguished Professor, Educational Administration and Policy Studies

  • Philip McCallion, professor, Social Welfare

  • Jessica Phelan, graduate representative

  • John Pipkin, Distinguished Service Professor and chair, Geography and Planning

  • Leonard Slade, professor and chair, Africana Studies

  • David Smith, associate professor, Finance

  • Bruce Szelest, assistant vice president, Strategic Planning and Assessment, staff support

Compact planning is designed to help the University articulate its ambitions and goals. While there will be some targeted investments, the administration is working simultaneously to increase resources for the entire University community, so that in the future it may address a much broader array of campus needs.


Please send questions or comments about the UAlbany News site to: