Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Emergency Preparedness
 


        Victor Asal

Victor Asal
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Terrorism; Homeland Security; Contentious Politics
Campus phone: (518) 591-8729
Campus email: vasal@albany.edu



        Rick C. Mathews

Rick C. Mathews
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Public Service Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Homeland security; infrastructure protection; intelligence; counter-terrorism and terrorism interdiction; information sharing; weapons of mass destruction; critical decision making; facility and systems security; emergency preparedness
Campus phone: (518) 956-8180
Campus email: rmathews@albany.edu



        Richard Nathan

Richard Nathan
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Disaster recovery; federalism; government reform; social service spending; welfare reform
Campus phone: (518) 443-5522
Campus email: rnathan@albany.edu



        Samantha Phillips

Samantha Phillips
College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity
Public Service Professor
Department: Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity


Expert in the following: Emergency management, crisis communication, preparedness, recovery and resilience, executive leadership, training and development
Campus phone: 518-956-8129
Campus email: scphillips@albany.edu



        F. David Sheppard

F. David Sheppard
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Public Service Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Homeland security; terrorism; preventing terrorist attacks; disaster response

Campus phone: (518) 442-5258
Campus email: fsheppard@albany.edu



        Amber Silver

Amber Silver
College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity
Assistant Professor
Department: Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity


Expert in the following: Risk communication; social media; public attention; decision-making; risk perception; severe and hazardous weather; sense of place
Campus phone: 518-442-5271
Campus email: asilver@albany.edu



        Eric K. Stern

Eric K. Stern
College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity
Professor
Department: Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity


Expert in the following: Crisis and emergency management; crisis communication; resilience; security studies; executive leadership; foreign policy analysis and political psychology
Campus phone: (518) 442-5258
Campus email: ekstern@albany.edu