Rockefeller College of Public Affairs and Policy

By the Numbers

  • Total enrollment: 910
  • Bachelor's: 557
  • Master's: 149
  • Graduate Certificates: 21
  • Doctoral: 118

Rockefeller College of Public Affairs and Policy

Major Highlights

Rockefeller College Dean Jeffrey D. Straussman was inducted into the National Academy of Public Administration as an Academy Fellow.

The New York Latino Research and Resources Network (NYLARNet), directed by Jose Cruz, associate professor of political science, issued the first results of a new survey, the UAlbany Latino Political Barometer, that tracks voting trends and issues important to Latinos. Cruz secured a $75,000 legislative initiative grant to support NYLARNet's work, as well as a $25,000 grant from the Office of Diversity and Educational Equity at SUNY Central Administration.

Rey Koslowski, associate professor, political science, received a Transatlantic Academy Fellowship supporting 10 months of research and writing. Koslowski will explore if the U.S. and European Union can maintain visa-free transatlantic travel while increasing security.

Michael Malbin, professor, political science, co-authored Vital Statistics on Congress, which provides data, historical context, and in-depth analysis on the 109th Congress.

The second edition of Joseph Zimmerman's classic text, The Government and Politics of New York State, was published in spring 2008. Zimmerman is a professor of political science.

Julie Novkov, associate professor, political science, co-edited two books with themes about race and politics: Security Disarmed: Critical Perspectives on Gender, Race, and Militarization and Race and American Political Development.

Gregory Nowell, associate professor, political science, was accepted as an academic fellow with the Foundation for the Defense of Democracies.

Research Centers and Institutes Highlights

The Center for International Development was awarded a subcontract to provide technical assistance to the Palestinian Authority in the area of public administration reform with a primary three-year goal of increasing financial transparency and accountability.

The Center for Legislative Development completed Phase I of the modernization of the medical assistance reimbursement process and the introduction of online citizen access to municipal tax records under its $19-million USAID grant for the Municipal Governance Assistance Program in Lebanon.

The Center for Women in Government & Civil Society convened Tech Valley Futures, a one-day event sponsored by the Tech Valley Civic Forum which represented a group of more than 100 community members in business, education, government, and non-profit sectors.

The Professional Development Program was awarded a $4 million contract from the New York State Department of Health's Tobacco Control Program to help chemical dependence providers adopt and integrate new regulations by the state Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services.

Rockefeller College and the Korean Development Institute School of Public Policy and Management launched the Albany-KDI MPA Program. It provides extended academic opportunities toward a Master of Public Administration degree to those students who transfer to Rockefeller College from a KDI school after completing a full year of graduate work in Korea.


Patricia Strach, assistant professor of political science, won the prestigious Robert Wood Johnson Fellowship in Health Policy Research. She will spend two years at Harvard University.

Victor Asal, associate professor of political science, and Karl Rethemeyer, associate professor of public administration, received a total of about $2 million in external grants and contracts to support research on terrorism.

Major Gifts

Rockefeller College Advisory Board member Michael Lampert made a significant gift.

One hundred donors have given to the graduate student scholarship established in honor of former Dean Frank Thompson, approaching the fundraising goal of $100,000.

RC Advisory Board members, Jennifer Manner '86, Sheri Denkensohn Trott '89, Frank Jazzo '80, and Vincent Abramo '67 made generous gifts to support internships for two master's students in Washington, DC, during summer 2008.

Faculty and Staff Appointments

Ellen Rubin, Kathleen Deloughery, Erika Martin and Stephen Weinberg joined the Department of Public Administration and Policy.

Torrey Shanks, Meredith Weiss, Holly Jarman and Bryan Early joined the Department of Political Science.

Malcolm Russell-Einhorn was appointed director of the Center for International Development.