University at Albany

Scholarships, Awards & Prizes:

School of Criminal Justice

Managed by Financial Aid
Managed by School of Criminal Justice

Bruce L. Davis '73, '75 Fellowship
The Bruce L. Davis ’73, ’75 Fellowship provides scholarship-level support for a Ph.D. student enrolled at the University at Albany’s School of Criminal Justice. The selection of this recipient shall be based on academic merit and excellence. The student recipient does not need to demonstrate financial need, as defined by the University at Albany.  This fellowship may be renewed (up to 3 years) as long as the recipient remains matriculated in the Ph.D. program at the School of Criminal Justice and demonstrates academic excellence. This fund has been established to ensure that the University at Albany School of Criminal continues to attract, enroll and retain the most promising Ph.D. students while preparing those students to make a difference in the study of crime, criminal behavior and society’s response to crime.

Steven DeBraccio '10 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award
Established by Steven V. DeBraccio ’10, this fund provides a teaching award to a gradate or Ph.D. student teaching a course within the School of Criminal Justice. The receipient will be selected on student course evaluation and overall teaching ability. The recipient must have taught a minimu of 3 cources as a TA or 2 courses as a main instructor to be eligible.

Michael J. Lynch & Elizabeth Cass Endowed Award
Established by Elizabeth S. Cass, Ph.D. ’85, ’91 and Michael J. Lynch, Ph.D. ’83, ’88, this award provides travel support for current Ph.D. student or applicants to the School of Criminal Justice who demonstrate academic achievement. This Fund may be used to supplement fellowships or graduate assistantships as a means of recruiting students or to support current Ph.D. student’s travel. Such travel shall be for the purpose of presenting research at academic conferences or collecting data for research projects.

Lt. John Finn Scholarship
Created in the memory of Lt. John Finn of the Albany Police Department, the Finn Scholarship is awarded annually to a student enrolled in, or about to enroll in, a graduate program related to Criminal Justice at the University at Albany. Scholarship recipients will have demonstrated (a) a record of academic excellence; (b) an interest in applying social science methods to developing and evaluating solutions to crime and other public safety problems; and (c) an interest in working for or in collaboration with law enforcement agencies.

Michael J. Hindelang Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship was established in honor of Professor Michael J. Hindelang, a member of the School of Criminal Justice faculty from 1970 until his death in 1982. During his brilliant career as a researcher and teacher, he pioneered new areas of criminological research, advanced theoretical and methodological frontiers, and helped educate a generation of students who shared his zeal and enthusiasm for criminal justice research. This scholarship is established to continue his tradition of excellence by providing financial support for outstanding new doctoral students.

J. Edgar Hoover Foundation Leadership Scholarship
Generously established by the J. Edgar Hoover Foundation, this scholarship provides support for undergraduate students in UAlbany’s School of Criminal Justice. Student recipients must be a rising junior or senior, maintain at least a 3.3 GPA, be in good academic standing and show leadership qualities. Student recipients must also demonstrate financial need.

Larivee Family Scholarship in Criminal Justice
Established by John J. Larivee ’74, this scholarship provides support to graduate students pursuing a degree within UAlbany’s School of Criminal Justice.

Eliot H. Lumbard Award for Academic Excellence
This award was established in honor of Eliot H. Lumbard, who was instrumental in proposing the idea of the School of Criminal Justice to Governor Nelson A. Rockefeller in the early 1960s, and in shaping the objectives and format of the academic program. The Lumbard Award is given to the graduate student with the most outstanding record of academic excellence. Both master’s degree and doctoral degree students are eligible.

Robert A. Martin, Jr. Fellowship in Criminal Justice
Established by Robert A. Martin, Sr., to memorialize his son Robert A. Martin, Jr.’s personal and professional dedication to the field of Criminal Justice, this fellowship provides support for doctoral students enrolled in the School of Criminal Justice who demonstrate strong academic performance and commitment to their specialized field of study.

Donald J. Newman Prize
This prize is awarded to a graduating senior in Criminal Justice who, in the judgment of the faculty, reflects the highest ideals of undergraduate scholarship in a manner befitting the memory of the late Professor Donald J. Newman.

Graeme Newman Award for Entrepreneurial Criminal Justice
Established by Bruce L. Davis ’73, ’75, in honor of Professor Graeme Newman, this fund will provide an award to the student who submits the best business plan for an innovative criminal justice product or service. This award may be administered as part of the Blackstone LaunchPad initiative at UAlbany, in which undergraduate students are mentored and encouraged to develop innovative ideas that culminate in the presentation of their business plan at an annual competition.

Larry Siegel & Therese J. Libby Fund
Established by Larry J. Siegel, M.A. ’70, Ph.D. ’74 and Terry Libby of the Darald and Julie Libby Foundation, this fund supports UAlbany’s School of Criminal Justice’s graduate program. This fund will provide the Dean with flexible and yearly support to fund priorities for the School of Criminal Justice’s graduate students. This includes, but is not limited to, overall student enrichment, student scholarships, lectures, travel, etc.