University at Albany

Scholarships, Awards & Prizes:

College of Arts & Sciences

Department of English

Managed by Financial Aid
Managed by English

Eleanor Bazzoni 1906 Fellowship
The Eleanor Rosalie Bazzoni, Class of 1906 Fellowship was established by Charles Bazzoni in honor of his sister. This fund is for outstanding achievement in English, French or German, and is in memory of Eleanor Rosalie Bazzoni, Class of 1906.

Dorothy Griffin Professorship in English Education
Generously established by the estate of Dorothy Griffin ’34, this fund supports a distinguished professorship in English Education. This professorship is designated to lead the secondary school English teacher preparation program and is intended to focus attention on the importance of academic excellence in teacher preparation.

Vivian C. Hopkins Award
Established in memory of Professor Vivian C. Hopkins, this award is made to recognize a student who demonstrates outstanding scholastic ability and character in the Department of English.

Shields McIlwaine Award
Established in memory of Professor Shields-Mcllwaine, this award is given annually by the Department of English for the best student poem.

Arlene F. Steinberg 1971 Memorial Scholarship

Established by Mrs. Sue Steinberg in memory of her daughter, Arlene F. Steinberg, Class of 1971, this fund is awarded to an outstanding junior or senior English major in the field of twentieth-century fiction, poetry, or theater.

Richard Thorns Endowment

Established by Richard Thorns, Class of 1960 to provide a fellowship, scholarship or visiting professorship in English Literature within UAlbany’s English Department.