Janine Jurkowski Conducts CBPR Workshop at National Meeting

Janine Jurkowski, associate dean for Public Health Practice and associate professor in the Department of Health Policy, Management and Behavior, recently conducted a workshop on Community Based Participatory Research (CBPR) at the Delaware IDeAs 2016 meeting in Newark, Delaware. Held on the campus of the University of Delaware, the workshop was part of a joint meeting of five National Institutes of Health (NIH) funded programs and the University of Delaware, the Christiana Care Health System, Nemours, and the Medical University of South Carolina. The focus of the workshop was training federally-funded researchers and others on how to incorporate CBPR into their clinical and public health research.

Participants learned the terminology and definitions of the continuum of community-engaged research as well as the rational, benefits and challenges to CBPR from both perspectives as well as strategies for successfully engaging communities. Through discussion of real world scenarios and sample research abstracts and proposal sections, researchers learned how to apply a CBPR approach to traditional research designs and methodologies for NIH and PCORI proposals using recent FOAs.

A leader in community-based public health, Jurkowski was awarded the Tom Bruce Award of Honor by the Community-Based Public Health Caucus (CBPH), which is affiliated with the American Public Health Association (APHA), at the association’s annual meeting in October 2012. The award recognizes an individual’s leadership in community-based public health and recognizes “an individual who has made a significant contribution to the CBPH Caucus and the CBPH Movement.” Jurkowski’s work in CBPR was cited as the lead program and one of three supporting the University at Albany’s being named to the 2012 President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll.