Faculty

All contact information is listed below. If you click the faculty member's last name you will be directed to a page containing more information about that individual and her/his vita. All members are listed alphabetically, with affiliates and emeritus below.

 

Department Office: socio@albany.edu


 

Faculty Member

Phone, Office & Office Hours-Fall 2018

Kate Averett
Averett, Kate Henley, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Gender
kaverett@albany.edu

Please contact by email          Arts & Sciences 334

W 11:00-12:00, TH 3:00-5:00 or by appointment

faculty picture
Berman, Elizabeth Popp, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Organizations
epberman@albany.edu

(518) 442-4675                  Arts & Sciences 346 
W 4:20-5:20, TH 2:00-4:00
or by appointment

faculty picture
Brandon, Peter, Ph.D.
Professor
Welfare Policy, Social Demography
pbrandon@albany.edu
Please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 326
TTH 12:00-1:30
or by appointment
faculty picture
Chung, Angie, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Honors Program Director 
Urban Sociology
aychung@albany.edu

Please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 304
T 2:45-3:45, TH 10:30-11:30 and 2:45-3:45 or by appointment

faculty picture
Deane, Glenn, Ph.D.
Professor
Department Chair 
Demography
gdeane@albany.edu
Please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 339
TTH 3:00-4:00, W 11:00-12:00 or by appointment
faculty picture
Dreby, Joanna, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Immigration, Families, Children
jdreby@albany.edu

Please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 318

W 11:00-1:30 or by appointment

faculty picture
Friedman, Samantha, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Internship Director
Urban Sociology
Samfriedman@albany.edu
(518) 442-5458
Arts & Sciences 348
W 1:30-3:30, TH 11:30-12:30 or by appointment
Brandon Gorman
Gorman, Brandon, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Political Sociology
Bgorman@albany.edu
(518) 442-5458
Arts & Sciences 341

W 3:00-5:00
or by appointment
faculty picture
Gubernskaya, Zoya, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Social Demography
zgubernskaya@albany.edu
(518) 442-4671
Arts & Sciences 344
TTH 10:30-12:00, W 10:00-11:00 or by appointment
Horton, Hayward D., Ph.D.
Professor
Demography, Race and Ethnicity
hdhorton@albany.edu
(518) 442-4907
Arts & Sciences 320  
MW 1:00-2:30
or by appointment
Jacobs, Ronald, Ph.D.
Jacobs, Ronald, Ph.D.
Professor
Theory, Culture and Mass Media
rjacobs@albany.edu
Please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 327
MW 1:30-2:30
or by appointment
Kaufman, Joanne, Ph.D.
Kaufman, Joanne, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Crime and Deviance
jkaufman@albany.edu

(518) 442-5963
Arts & Sciences 343
M 2:30-4:30, W 10:30-12:00 or by appointment

Lachmann, Richard, Ph.D.
Lachmann, Richard, Ph.D.
Professor
Comparative/Historical Sociology, Political Sociology
 rlachmann@albany.edu

Please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 360
MW 1:00-2:30
or by appointment

Liang, Zai, Ph.D.
Liang, Zai, Ph.D.
Professor
Migration/Immigration, Demography, China
zliang@albany.edu
(518) 442-4676
Arts & Sciences 303
MW 1:00-2:30,
or by appointment
Loscocco, Karyn, Ph.D.
Loscocco, Karyn, Ph.D.
Professor
Gender, Race, Inequality
kloscocco@albany.edu
Please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 321
W 1:30-3:00, TH 12:45-2:15 or by appointment
Major, Aaron, Ph.D.
Major, Aaron, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director of  Undergraduate Studies 
Economic, Political, Military Sociology, Globalization
amajor@albany.edu

Please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 301
By appointment only

 

Messner, Steven, Ph.D.
Messner, Steven, Ph.D.
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Crime and Deviance
smessner@albany.edu

(518) 442-4674
Arts & Sciences 302
MW 2:00-3:30
or by appointment

South, Scott, Ph.D.
South, Scott, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Demography, Urban, Family
ssouth@albany.edu

(518) 442-4691
Arts & Sciences 307
MW 1:00-2:30 or by appointment

Strully, Kate, Ph.D.
Strully, Kate, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
Medical Sociology
kstrully@albany.edu
Please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 308
T 3:00-4:00, W 1:00-3:00 or by appointment
Trent, Katherine, Ph.D.
Trent, Katherine, Ph.D.
Professor
Social Demography, Sociology of Families
ktrent@albany.edu
(518) 442-4681
Arts & Sciences 311
T 3:00-5:00, TH 3:00-4:00
or by appointment
Vieyra, Francisco, Ph.D.
Vieyra, Francisco, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

fvieyra@albany.edu
(518) 442-4693
Arts & Sciences 314
W 11:45-2:45
or by appointment
Wagner, David, Ph.D.
Wagner, David, Ph.D.
Professor
Social Psychology
dwagner@albany.edu
(518) 442-4689
Arts & Sciences 310
TTH 12:00-1:30
or by appointment
Yang, Tse-Chuan, Ph.D.
Yang, Tse-Chuan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Demography
tyang3@albany.edu
(518) 442-4647
Arts & Sciences 315
WTH 10:30-12:00
or by appointment
Zetka, James, Ph.D.
Zetka, James, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Occupational Sociology
jzetka@albany.edu
Please contact by email
Arts & Sciences 330
MWF 9:15-10:15
or by appointment
 

 Affiliates and Emeritus

 
 
Alba, Richard, Ph.D. Distinguished Professor (Emeritus)
Race and Ethnicity

ralba@albany.edu
 
Benavot, Aaron, Ph.D.
Professor (Affiliate)
Educational Administration & Policy

            abenavot@uamail.albany.edu

  Bose, Christine, Ph.D.
Professor (Emeritus)
Stratification and Gender Studies

 cbose@albany.edu

Denton, Nancy, Ph.D.                 Professor (Emeritus)
Demography                

              ndenton@albany.edu

 

 
Hernandez, Donald, Ph.D. Professor (Emeritus)
Children, Youth, Public Policy

dhernandez@albany.edu

Dr Gabriel Hetland

Hetland, Gabriel, Ph.D.            Assistant Professor (Affiliate)
Latin American, Caribbean and U.S. Latino Studies

 

ghetland@albany.edu

 

Dr David Hureau

Hureau, David, Ph.D.      Assistant Professor (Affiliate)
School of Criminal Justice

dhureau@albany.edu

 

 
Krohn, Marvin, Ph.D.
Professor (Emeritus
Criminology

 
Logan, John, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor (Emeritus)
Community and Urban

 
Moore, Gwen, Ph.D.
Professor (Emeritus)
Political Sociology, Gender, Social Networks

gmoore@albany.edu


Pridemore, William, Ph.D.         Dean and Professor (Affiliate)School of Criminal Justice

 

pridemore@albany.edu

 

 
Raffalovich, Lawrence, Ph.D. Associate Professor (Emeritus)
Stratification, Statistics 

lraffalovich@albany.edu

 
Richter, Maurice, Ph.D               Associate Professor (Emeritus)
Science, Stratification

                        richter@albany.edu

  Schiller, Kathryn, Ph.D. Associate Professor (Affiliate) 
Sociology of Education

schiller@albany.edu

Seidman, Steven, Ph.D.               Professor
Social Theory

sjs3490@gmail.com

 

 

Spitze, Glenna, Ph.D.
Distinguished Service Professor (Emeritus)
Families, Gender, Aging

 gspitze@albany.edu

  Sutton, Barbara, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor (Affiliate) 
Women's Studies

 bsutton@albany.edu

 

Ward, Russell, Ph.D.
Professor (Emeritus)
Aging

 rward@albany.edu