SCJ Celebrates Graduates, Awardees

More than 800 graduates, award recipients, alumni, faculty, family and friends gathered for the 2015 School of Criminal Justice Commencement Celebration on Saturday, May 16. The School honored 235 graduates at the ceremony. SCJ students earned eight PhD, 37 MA, and 188 BA degrees in the 2014-15 academic year.


Dean Alan Lizotte welcomes graduates and guests to the 2015 Commencement Celebration.

PhD recipient Robert Norris delivered the commencement address on behalf of Master’s and doctoral graduates, and Eric Slater, recipient of the Bachelor’s degree, spoke on behalf of his fellow undergraduates. Nine student awards were presented during the ceremony. They are:

Lt. John F. Finn Scholarship
Presented to Nicolle Quinonez Ramirez

Walter M. Francis Policing Award
Presented to Mark Chaires

Frank Remington Award for Interdisciplinary Legal Studies
Presented to Reveka Shteynberg

University Distinguished Dissertation Award
Presented to Christopher Dum

Eliot H. Lumbard Award for Academic Excellence
Presented to Robert Norris

Bruce Davis Criminal Justice Scholarship
Presented to Victoria Farrell

Distinguished Teaching Professor James Acker/ Dr. Walter Francis Award
Presented to Eric Slater

Donald J. Newman Award for Outstanding Achievement
Presented to Alyssa Clark

Valedictorian Award
Presented to Eric Slater

Dean Alan Lizotte also presented two Distinguished Alumni medals during the ceremony. The recipients are:

Distinguished Alumni Awards
Dr. Michael J. Lynch, MA ‘83, PhD ‘88
Dr. Elizabeth S. Cass, MA ‘85, PhD ’91

View the 2015 SCJ Commencement Celebration photo album.