Faculty & Staff

In this Directory: Faculty | Emeritus Faculty | Staff

Faculty

    Pridemore, William Alex

    Dean
    Criminal Justice
    Dean and Distinguished Professor
    Campus Address: Draper 219A
    Phone: 518-442-5214
    Email: pridemore@albany.edu

    Research Interests: The impact of social structure on homicide and suicide rates, the role of alcohol in violence and mortality, and sociology of health and illness.

    Acker, James

    Distinguished Teaching Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper Hall, 221B
    Phone: 518-442-5317
    Email: jacker@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Integration of Social Science into Law, and Legal Doctrine Relating to Criminal Procedure, Criminal Law, Juvenile Justice, Miscarriages of Justice, and Capital Punishment

    Bailey, Frankie

    Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 204
    Phone: 518-442-5237
    Email: fybailey@albany.edu

    Research Interests: A synthesis of Crime, Social History and Popular Culture

    Hoeben, Evelien

    Assistant Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 209A
    Phone: 518-442-5219
    Email: ehoeben@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Adolescent Delinquency and Substance Use, Peer Influence, Group Processes, Time Use, Situational Explanations for Behavior

    Hureau, David

    Assistant Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 209C
    Phone: 518-591-8737
    Email: dhureau@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Violent Crime & Social Inequality, Ethnography & Qualitative Methods, Criminal Justice Policy, Punishment & Incarceration, Policing, Urban Sociology

    Kurlychek, Megan C.

    Associate Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 219
    Phone: 518-591-8736
    Email: mkurlychek@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Juvenile Justice and Delinquency, Offender Rehabilitation and Reentry, Courts and Sentencing, Quantitative Research Methods

    Lizotte, Alan

    Distinguished Professor
    Campus Address: Draper Hall, 207
    Phone: 518-442-5227
    Email: alizotte@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Guns and Gun Control, the Correlates and Causes of Juvenile Delinquency Over the Life Course, and Policy Health Issues for Clients of the Criminal Justice System

    Loftin, Colin

    Distinguished Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 210C
    Phone: 518-442-5216
    Email: cloftin@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Violence, Methodology and Statistics, Structural Factors, Measurement

    McDowall, David

    Distinguished Teaching Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 223B
    Phone: 518-442-5225
    Email: dmcdowall@albany.edu

    Research Interests: The social distribution of crime and criminal victimization; policy of juvenile justice and firearm violence; historical patterns in criminal offending and the time series properties of crime rate trends

    Najdowski, Cynthia

    Assistant Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 210B
    Phone: 518-591-8786
    Email: cnajdowski@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Psychological theory as it helps understand justice and legal issues, particularly those concerning vulnerable and victimized populations.

    Newman, Graeme

    Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 223A
    Phone: 518-442-5223
    Email: gnewman@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Pioneered the establishment of the United Nations Crime and Justice Information Network, the first criminal justice presence on the Internet. In his capacity as Associate Director of the Center for Problem Oriented Policing, Professor Newman has published in the series of Problem Specific Guides for Police, Check and Card Fraud, and Identity Theft. He also manages and contributes to design of the web site for the Center for Problem Oriented Policing (www.popcenter.org)

    Peterson, Dana

    Associate Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 203
    Phone: 518-442-5711
    Email: dpeterson@albany.edu

    Research Interests: The debate over whether gender-specific or gender-neutral theories of and responses to delinquency and youth gangs are necessary, as well as in the ways that gender structures delinquency and gang involvement.

    Pickett, Justin

    Associate Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 219
    Phone: 518-442-5210
    Email: jpickett@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Public Opinion, Survey Research Methods, Theories of Punishment, Police-Community Relations

    Pogarsky, Greg

    Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 222A
    Phone: 518-591-8755
    Email: gpogarsky@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Offender decision-making, deterrence, and exploring the applicability of insights from Behavioral economic and psychological research to criminal behavior

    Thornberry, Terence P.

    Distinguished Professor Emeritus
    Criminal Justice

    Research Interests: Understanding the development of delinquency and crime over the life course, Impact of gang membership on human development, Causes and consequences of child maltreatment, and Intergenerational transmission of antisocial behavior

    Whichard, Corey

    Assistant Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 219
    Phone: 518-442-4217
    Email: cwhichard@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Incarceration, Prisoner Reentry, Social Network Analysis, Life Course Studies

    Wilson, Theodore, II

    Assistant Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 209B
    Phone: 518-442-5176
    Email: thwilson@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Offender Decision Making, Criminal Justice Practitioner Decision Making, Courts and Sentencing, Quantitative Methods

    Worden, Alissa Pollitz

    Associate Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 225B
    Phone: 518-442-5213
    Email: aworden@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Decision making processes of criminal justice actors, agencies and networks, and the determinants of criminal justice policy

    Worden, Robert E.

    Associate Professor
    Criminal Justice
    Campus Address: Draper 221C
    Phone: 518-442-5217
    Email: rworden@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Police behavior and police misconduct; Bureaucratic and external mechanisms of control of police; The effects of police strategies, programs, and practices; and Public attitudes toward police

Affiliated Faculty

Steven Messner  442-4674  AS351  smessner@albany.edu

Lecturer

Andrea Kordzek  591-8740  220  akordzek@albany.edu


Courtesy Appointments

Kamiar Alaei  442-2586  BA365  kalaei@albany.edu
Shawn Bushway  591-8738  MI220  sbushway@albany.edu


Adjunct Faculty

David Clark Ph.D. (1988) University at Albany
Stephen Hogan J.D. (1986) University of Notre Dame Law School
Dennis McCarty Ph.D. (1985) University at Albany
 

Staff

Secretary to the Dean
  Michele Fox 442-5214 219 mfox@albany.edu
Student Services Secretary
  TBD 442-5210 220 scj@albany.edu
Assistant to the Dean for Budget and Personnel
  Andrea Lawrence 442-3349 218A alawrence@albany.edu
Assistant Dean
  Diana Mancini 591-8730 220B dmancini2@albany.edu
Student Services Coordinator
  Stacey Zyskowski 442-5207 220A szyskowski@albany.edu
Director of Development for the School of Criminal Justice
  Michael Boots mboots@albany.edu
 

Emeritus Faculty

David Bayley Ph.D. (1961) Princeton University
Fred Cohen LL.M. (1961) Yale University
David Duffee Ph.D. (1973) University at Albany
Robert H. Hardt Ph.D. (1964) Syracuse University
Hans Toch  442-5228  206  htoch@albany.edu