Awards and Recognition

Professor Shawn Bushway has been elected an Executive Counselor of the American Society of Criminology.

Professor David McDowall won the 2011 American Society of Criminology Teaching Award. The Teaching Award is a lifetime-achievement award designed to recognize excellence in undergraduate and/or graduate teaching over the span of an academic career.

PhD student Jennifer Lynn Owens won the 2012 Michael C. Braswell/Anderson Publishing Outstanding Student Paper Award from the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences for "Capital Punishment in the Lone Star State: A County-Level Analysis of Contextual Effects on Sentencing."