Presidential Awards Honor Staff and Faculty Excellence

ALBANY, N.Y. (April 25, 2017) - Victor Asal, associate professor of political science and the chair of the Department of Public Administration at Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy, has been selected to receive the University at Albany’s President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. Professor Asal teaches courses on world and comparative politics, political violence and oppression, negotiation, and research design.
The 2017 President’s Awards will be given to 15 faculty and staff who are “exemplary models of the outstanding performance expected from all University employees.” The honors are awarded for excellence in teaching, research and creative activities; academic, professional and support service, and librarianship.

The awards will be handed out by Interim President James R. Stellar at 1 p.m. Wednesday, April 26, in the Campus Center Ballroom.

“UAlbany’s people are our greatest asset and the foundation of all of our achievements,” Stellar said. “I look forward to presenting these awards to this extraordinary group of faculty and staff.”
2016-17 Excellence Awards Recipients

Dr. Victor Asal, Political Science
Ms. Hirah Mir, Educational & Counseling Psychology
Dr. Richard Schneible, Accounting & Law
Dr. Trudy Walp, Literacy Teaching & learning

Mr. Mark Wolfe, University Libraries

Professional Service:      
Ms. Monica Hope, Educational Opportunity Program
Ms. Indumathi Lnu, Facilities Management
Mr. David Mason, University Accounting
Mr. Aran Mull, University Police Department
Ms. Denise Szelest, Human Resources Management

Support Services:             
Ms. Cynthia Endres, Dean’s Office, Arts & Sciences
Ms. Ann Trudeau, Facilities Management

Research & Creative Activities:                  
Dr. Louise Burkhart, Anthropology
Dr. Zai Liang, Sociology
Dr. Siwei Lyu, Computer Science