University at Albany

Distinguished Service to the College

Sue Faerman, PhD ’87
Distinguished Teaching Professor, University at Albany
Academic Chair, Women’s Leadership Academy,
Center for Women in Government and Civil Society

Sue R. Faerman is a distinguished teaching professor at the University at Albany. From 1999 through 2013, Professor Faerman served as the University at Albany’s vice provost and dean for undergraduate education.  Following that, she served as dean of the University’s College of Computing and Information for two years.  Since 2010, Professor Faerman has also served as the academic chair of the Center for Women in Government and Civil Society’s Women’s Leadership Academy. 

Professor Faerman holds a BS in Applied Mathematics and Statistics from SUNY-Stony Brook, an MS in Applied Mathematics from George Washington University, and a PhD in Public Administration from the University at Albany.

Professor Faerman’s work centers on managerial leadership, focusing particularly on the paradoxical elements of leadership and organizational performance.  More recently, she has also begun doing research on issues related to work-life balance and integration.  She has authored or co-authored numerous books, articles, and book chapters on leadership and organization and management theory. 

In 1998, Professor Faerman was named a University Collins Fellow, an award that recognizes members of the University at Albany teaching faculty who have exhibited extraordinary devotion to the University over a sustained period of time. In addition, Professor Faerman has received numerous honors and awards recognizing her teaching and mentorship, including the Organizational Behavior Teaching Society’s Peter J. Frost Mentoring Award (2014), the University at Albany President’s Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award (2014), the Center for Women in Government and Civil Society’s Women in Public Service Leadership Award (2013), the University at Albany’s Lavender Graduation OUT-Standing Faculty/Staff Leadership Award (2012), NASPAA’s Leslie A. Whittington Excellence in Teaching Award (2003), and both the University at Albany’s President’s Award and the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (2000).