Bosart and Block Named to Highest Rank by International Science Organization

Lance Bosart and Eric Block are the University at Albany’s newest elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

bosart and block
Distinguished Professors Eric Block & Lance Bosart.

The association is a leading international organization whose mission is to “advance science, engineering and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people.”

Distinguished Professor Bosart, Department of Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences, is one of the world’s leading experts in synoptic/dynamic meteorology, the study of large-scale (1000+ kilometers) weather systems. His research areas include winter storms, cyclones, hurricanes, and tornadoes. He was elected in November 2013.

Professor Block, a Carla Rizzo Delray Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, was named a fellow in November 2012. He was recognized for his contributions to organosulfur, organoselenium and food chemistry, particularly onion and garlic (Allium) chemistry, and the physiological effects of organosulfur compounds.

Election as a fellow is a significant achievement in the scientific community. Individuals are nominated and then elected by current AAAS fellows.

With the election of Bosart, the UAlbany faculty now includes four AAAS fellows: Bosart, Block, Distinguished Professor Marlene Belfort of Biological Sciences, and Professor of Anthropology and Epidemiology Lawrence Schell. Belfort and Schell were elected in 2007.