Complete Academic Calendar

Narrow By

Undergraduate Calendar Classes Suspended Advance Registration
Graduate Calendar Commencement/Graduation Related Dates Late Registration
Semester Courses UUP Information Drop/Add Dates
8week1 Courses Financial Liability Dates for Dropping Courses Withdrawal Dates
8week2 Courses Grading    

Spring 2019 Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar is subject to change at any time by official action of the University at Albany.

Please note the use of Saturday, May 11, 2019 as a Final Examination day.  

Printable PDF

Published on 9/6/2018

Wed, January 2

Spring 2019 Degree Application Submission Available for UNDERGRADUATE & GRADUATE students. Those students who expect to complete degree requirements by the official degree conferral date (5/19/2019) must apply via MyUAlbany.

Mon, January 21

UUP eligible students using the UUP Employee Tuition Waiver may register for/add 8 Week 1 or Semester Length course 

Wed, January 23

Classes begin at 8:00 am 

Wed, January 23

First day for non-UAlbany students to cross-register for UAlbany courses 

Thu, January 24

Late registration begins. Late registration fee charged

Mon, January 28

Last day to add 8 Week 1 course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required) 

Tue, January 29

Last day to drop semester length and 8 Week 1 courses with 0% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Wed, January 30

Last day to drop 8 Week 1 course without receiving a "W" 

Wed, January 30

Last day to add 8 Week 1 course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required).

Wed, January 30

Last day to add semester length course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required) 

Tue, February 5

Last day to add semester length course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required).

Tue, February 5

Last day to formally audit semester length course 

Tue, February 5

Last day to drop semester length course without receiving a "W" 

Tue, February 5

Last day of late registration for the semester 

Tue, February 5

Last day to drop 8 Week 1 courses with 60% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Tue, February 5

Last day to drop semester length courses with 30% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Tue, February 12

Last day to drop 8 Week 1 courses with 80% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Tue, February 12

Last day to drop semester length courses with 50% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Wed, February 13

100% financial liability for dropped 8 Week 1 courses (view liability schedule)

Fri, February 15

Spring 2019 UNDERGRADUATE degree applications due - submit via MyUAlbany 

Tue, February 19

Last day for GRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 1 course ("W" assigned) 

Tue, February 19

Last day to drop semester length courses with 70% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Wed, February 20

100% financial liability for dropped semester length courses (view liability schedule)

Fri, February 22

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 1 course ("W" assigned) 

Fri, February 22

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for 8 Week 1 course 

Mon, March 11

8 Week 1 Final examination period begins 

Mon, March 11

Midterm Point 

Mon, March 11 - Mon, April 15

Advance Registration for Summer 2019 and Fall 2019 begins

Mon, March 11

First day for Albany Law School students to cross-register for Fall 2019 UAlbany courses 

Mon, March 11

UUP eligible students using the UUP Employee Tuition Waiver may register for/add 8 Week 2 course 

Tue, March 12

8 Week 1 Final examination period ends 

Tue, March 12

Last day of 8 Week 1 classes 

Wed, March 13

8 Week 2 classes begin at 8:00 am 

Fri, March 15

Expected date that final grades for 8 Week 1 classes will be posted and available to students on MyUAlbany (by 12:00pm). Subject to change at any time. Please check Semester Deadline Announcements under the Academics tab in MyUAlbany for additional information. Students who are missing grades after this date should contact their instructors directly. 

Fri, March 15

Spring 2019 GRADUATE degree applications due - submit via MyUAlbany 

Sat, March 16 - Fri, March 22

Classes Suspended
Spring Break

Tue, March 19

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 courses with 0% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Sat, March 23

Classes Resume at 8:00 am

Mon, March 25

Last day to add 8 Week 2 course without permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (no permission number required) 

Mon, March 25

Last day for GRADUATE students to drop semester length course ("W" assigned) 

Tue, March 26

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 courses with 60% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Wed, March 27

Last day to add 8 Week 2 course with permission of instructor via MyUAlbany (permission number required).

Wed, March 27

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 course without receiving a "W" 

Tue, April 2

Last day to drop 8 Week 2 courses with 80% financial liability (view liability schedule)

Wed, April 3

100% financial liability for dropped 8 Week 2 courses (view liability schedule)

Fri, April 5

Last day for students to make up incomplete grades from Fall 2018 or Winter 2019 

Mon, April 8

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for semester length course 

Mon, April 8

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop semester length course ("W" assigned)

Tue, April 16

Last day for GRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 2 course ("W" assigned) 

Fri, April 19

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to file S/U option or return to A-E grading for 8 Week 2 course 

Fri, April 19

Classes Suspended at 2:35 pm
Passover

Fri, April 19

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to drop 8 Week 2 course ("W" assigned) 

Sat, April 20

Classes Suspended
Passover

Sun, April 21

Classes Suspended
Easter

Mon, April 22

Classes Resume at 12:35 pm

Wed, May 1

Last day for dissertation and thesis submission for Spring 2019 graduation

Wed, May 8

Last day of classes 

Wed, May 8

Last day for UNDERGRADUATE students to withdraw voluntarily from the University and receive "W" grades 

Thu, May 9

Reading Day

Fri, May 10

Final examinations begin 

Thu, May 16

Final examinations end

Please see information about degree conferrals and grading (below).

Fri, May 17 - Sun, May 19

Spring 2019 Commencement Weekend 

Sun, May 19

Official degree conferral date Spring 2019

While degree clearance begins after the conclusion of final grading, it may take up to one month to complete the posting of all degrees. This timeline should be considered when ordering transcripts and submitting degree verifications. Please check your unofficial transcript to see when your degree has been awarded. Students with degree deficiencies will be contacted via their UAlbany email addresses. For additional information, please check Semester Deadline Announcements under the Academics tab in MyUAlbany.

Tue, May 21

Expected date that final grades for 8 Week 2 classes and semester length classes will be posted and available to students on MyUAlbany (by 12:00pm). Subject to change at any time. Please check Semester Deadline Announcements under the Academics tab in MyUAlbany for additional information. Students who are missing grades after this date should contact their instructors directly.