poster for New Music and Culture SymposiumDEPARTMENT HOSTS NEW MUSIC & CULTURE SYMPOSIUM

The Music Program of the University at Albany’s Department of Music and Theatre is pleased to present the New Music and Culture Symposium from January 29 to 31, 2015 at the UAlbany Performing Arts Center on the uptown campus.  Organized by Max Lifchitz, a composer, performer and long-time UAlbany faculty member, this SUNY-wide conference will celebrate and highlight the artistic accomplishments of composers and performers affiliated with the SUNY system and will consist of nine public concerts, four lecture/recitals, two panel discussions and a master class (see complete list below). All events are free and open to the public.

Highlights will include performances by The Buffalo Ensemble, the Stony Brook Contemporary Players and the New York City based North/South Consonance Ensemble. Distinguished soloists will include soprano Martha Herr (an American singer residing in Brazil), baritone Joseph Han, Canadian violinist and Stony Brook graduate Claudia Schaer, oboist Karen Hosmer, trumpeter Allyson Keyser, French hornist Ann Ellsworth, percussion virtuoso Tom Kolor, and guitarists James Budinich and Zane Merritt.

In addition to several recent works employing new technologies, also of interest will be the local preview of new electronic instruments such as the Soundplane (performed by William Pfaff) and the Theremin Cello (performed by Jonathan Golove).

Augusta Read Thomas, University of Chicago Professor and former composer-in-residence with the Chicago Symphony, will give one of the two key note addresses on Friday, January 30 at 1:15pm. She will discuss and provide examples of her recent works and also talk about the relationship between composers, musical institutions and the public. Thomas is a Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar.

Joel Chadabe, founder of Intelligent Music and New Music World as well as UAlbany Faculty Emeritus, will give the second keynote address on Saturday, January 31 at 11am. Chadabe’s lecture will focus on the impact of recent technological innovations on music making.

A total of 29 composers will participate in the event including James Budinich, Richard Hugunine and Kevin Truax of Binghamton University; Joel Chadabe and Max Lifchitz of the University at Albany; Chris Ashbaugh, Megan Grace Beugger, David Felder, Meredith Gilna, Jonathan Golove, Jacob Gotlib, Nathan Heidleberg, Cort Lippe, Zane Merritt, Jeffrey Stadelman, Matt Sargent and Colin Tucker of the University at Buffalo; Brett Wery of Schenectady County Community College; William Pfaff of SUNY Plattsburgh; David Heuser of SUNY Potsdam; Allyson Belink, Suzanne Farrin, and Laura Kaminsky of SUNY Purchase; and Tyler Capp, Andrew Conklin, Perry Goldstein, Margaret Schedel, Daria Semegen, Peter Winkler and  Winnie Yang of SUNY Stony Brook.

The symposium is possible with grants from the SUNY System Administration Conversations in the Discipline Program; Office of the UAlbany Vice-President for Research; CAS Dean's Office; Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars Program; North/.South Consonance, Inc.; as well as public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts.

For a complete schedule of events: