News Release icon Contact: Media Relations Office (518) 956-8150


Honoring Faculty and Staff Excellence 

ALBANY, N.Y. (May 5, 2016) – Recipients of this year’s President’s Excellence Awards were honored at a ceremony May 3 in the Campus Center Ballroom. The Excellence Awards recognize members of the faculty and staff who are exemplars of outstanding professional performance.

"We congratulate each of the recipients of this year's President's Excellence Awards, and we honor your contribution and example of extraordinary achievement and impact," said Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost James Stellar. "You inspire us all."

This year’s honorees and the categories they represent include:

Excellence in Teaching
Recognizes consistently superior teaching by tenure-track and non-tenure track contingent faculty at the undergraduate and graduate level over a period of several years:

  •    Jennifer Crowley, Anthropology
  •    Dawit Demissie, Information Studies
  •    Stephen Hogan, Criminal Justice
  •    Thomas Palmer, Communication/Journalism
  •    Kendra Smith-Howard, History
  •    Kelly Wissman, Literacy Teaching and Learning

Excellence in Research and Creative Activities
Designed to acknowledge and recognize consistently outstanding accomplishments in faculty research and creative activities:

  • Sheila Curran Bernard, History
  • Alexander Shekhtman, Chemistry
  • Ben Szaro, Biological Sciences

Excellence in Professional Service
Recognizes consistently superior professional achievement within and beyond the position by full-time and contingent professional staff:

  • Barbara Altrock, Social Welfare
  • Michael Boots, University Development
  • Meghan Cook, Center for Technology in Government
  • Joyce DeWitt-Parker, University Counseling Center
  • Elizabeth Gaffney, Arts and Sciences
  • Jennifer Goodall, Engineering & Applied Sciences
  • Janet Riker, University Art Museum
  • Janet Thayer, University Counsel’s Office

Excellence in Librarianship
Recognizes consistently superior professional achievement in the field of librarianship:

  • Brian Keough, University Libraries

Excellence in Academic Service
Recognizes consistently superior service over multiple years by members of the full-time teaching faculty who are appointed to ranks below Distinguished Professor:

  • Anne Hildreth, Political Science
  • Christine Wagner, Psychology

RSS Link For more news, subscribe to UAlbany's RSS headline feeds

About the University at Albany
A comprehensive public research university, the University at Albany offers more than 120 undergraduate majors and minors and 125 master's, doctoral, and graduate certificate programs. UAlbany is a leader among all New York State colleges and universities in such diverse fields as atmospheric and environmental sciences, business, criminal justice, emergency preparedness, engineering and applied sciences, informatics, public administration, social welfare, and sociology taught by an extensive roster of faculty experts. It also offers expanded academic and research opportunities for students through an affiliation with Albany Law School. With a curriculum enhanced by 600 study-abroad opportunities, UAlbany launches great careers.