Review Committee

Policy and Procedure for Microcredentials 

In March 2019, the University at Albany Senate voted to approve this policy and procedure for governing microcredentials at UAlbany: 

Microcredentials at UAlbany are a collection of courses and/or experiences that help students develop and document professional skills and competencies. The University at Albany will offer three types of microcredentials: Professional Pathways, Skill Badges and Continuing Education Badges. Microcredentials will be issued as an icon called a digital badge. They will not appear on the academic transcript, but on an online credentialing platform called Credly Acclaim. Students will earn a microcredential based on tangible evidence of competencies and skills that they will upload to the digital badge on Credly Acclaim.  

Faculty and/or departments will develop microcredentials through a proposal process centralized in the Center for Experiential Education (CEE), which will convene a committee of faculty and staff to review and approve them. This committee will include a current member of the Undergraduate Academic Council (UAC) and a current member of the Graduate Academic Council (GAC). The CEE will report approved microcredentials to GAC for those at the graduate level, to UAC for those at the undergraduate level, and all approved microcredentials to the Senate Executive Committee. 

Note: The names of the three types of microcredentials have been changed since this policy and procedure were passed.

Learn more about SUNY’s system-wide microcredentialing initiative.

Microcredential Review Committee 

The review and approval process allows the university to catalog microcredentialing opportunities and provide an efficient and consistent mechanism for tracking and managing badges on Credly Acclaim. Any new courses created in the process of developing a microcredential must go through the normal course approval process and fit into an existing program of study. 

Chair: Debra Gelinas, Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Innovation


  • Alexander Dawson, Associate Professor, Department of History 

  • Diane Hamilton, Instructional Designer, Institute for Teaching, Learning & Academic Leadership (ITLAL)  

  • Kelsey O’Brien, Information Literacy Librarian, University Libraries  

  • Annette Richie, Director of Global Academic Programs, Center for International Education and Global Strategy

  • Jerusalem Rivera-Wilson, Continuing Education and Certification Coordinator, School of Education

  • Edmund Stazyk, Associate Professor, Rockefeller College/ Chair of the Department of Public Administration and Policy  

The committee uses a Microcredential Proposal Review Rubric to review proposals. We recommend using the rubric as a resource for the development of proposals. Read further guidance for developing your proposal.