History of LLC

The Department of Languages Literatures and Cultures

The Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures (LLC) was established in 1997 by combining three separate preexisting departments, French Studies, Hispanic and Italian Studies and Slavic and Eurasian Studies.

At the time of the merger, LLC offered Danish, Dutch, French, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. Over time and with demand the department has added Arabic, German, Hebrew, Latin and Greek. (Danish, Dutch and Ancient Greek are not currently offered).

The combining of programs has encouraged faculty to work across disciplines and to offer cross-disciplinary courses under the LLC rubric, thus giving students a greater awareness of and exposure to cultural differences and intellectual diversity. Courses being taught under the LLC rubric include such subjects as Language teaching methodology, literary theory, comparative literature, research methodology, linguistics and film/media.