University at Albany

Some of our Notable Alumni

Beth Akers*: Fellow, Brown Center on Education Policy, Brookings Institution
Jiro Akita: Professor of Economics, Tohoku University, Japan
Ismael Arciniegas: Vice President of Research & Development, Constellation Energy
Yongho Baek: Chief Secretary of Policy Planning, Presidential Office, Korea; former Director, Korea Tax Service
Anne Case*: Alexander Stewart 1886 Professor of Economics and Public Affairs, Princeton University
Kausik Chaudhuri: Senior Lecturer, University of Leeds, U.K.
Taecksoo Chun: Secretary-General, Korean National Commission for UNESCO
Peter Coughlin: Associate Professor of Economics, University of Maryland, College Park
Kevin Currier: Professor, School of Business, Oklahoma State University
Susmita Dasgupta: Lead Economist, Research Department, The World Bank
Antony Davies: Associate Professor of Economics, Duquesne University
Diane Dewar: Associate Professor, Department of Health Policy Management, University at Albany
Thembayena Annastasia Dlamini: Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary (from Swaziland), Permanent Representative to the UN Office in Geneva
Charles Gascon**: Research Support Coordinator, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Young S. Jang: former President, Korean Electric Power Corporation; Professor, SUNY-Plattsburg
James Jozefowicz: Professor, Department of Economics, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Sungwhan Ju: Dean, Konkuk University, Korea
Myunghun Kang: Member, Korea Monetary Policy Committee; Professor, Dankook University
Sang-Kyung Kwak: Former member, Korea Monetary Policy Committee; Professor Emeritus, Korea University
Frank C. Lee: Chief, Canadian Forecasting, Department of Finance, Government of Canada
Jung S. Lee: Professor, Seoul National University; former Chief Economist, Asia Development Bank
Yang Liu: Assistant Professor of Economics, Nanjing University
Joan Chi-Chiung Lo: Deputy Director, Institute of Economics, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Michael Luca*: Assistant Professor of Business Administration, School of Business, Harvard University
Kumarjit Mandal: Reader, Department of Economics, University of Calcutta
Gamine Meepagala: Associate Professor, Howard University
Peter Morici: Professor of International Business, School of Business, University of Maryland
Dong-soon Park: Director, Macro-prudential Analysis Department, Financial Supervisory Service, Korea
Seung Park: Former Governor (Head), Bank of Korea; former President, Korean Economic Association; Professor Emeritus, Chung-Ang University
Gary Quinlivan: Dean, School of Business, St. Vincent College
Gerd Schwartz: Deputy Director, International Monetary Fund.
Xuguang Sheng: Assistant Professor, Department of Economics, SUNY-Fredonia; Assistant Professor, Department of Economics, American University
Kitae Sohn: Assistant Professor, Curtin University, Australia
Jae Song: Director of Research, Office of Retirement and Disability Policy, Social Security Administration
Xueda Song: Assistant Professor, York University, Canada
Manuel Tarrazo: Professor of Finance, University of San Franscisco
Emery Trahan: Donald J. Harding Professor of Finance, Northeastern University
Joseph Turek: Dean, School of Business and Economics, Lynchburg College
Volker Wieland**: Professor and Chair for Monetary Theory and Policy, J.W. Goethe University of Frankfurt
Qiang Xu: Director of Research and Chief Econometrican, New York State Division of Budget
Laiwu Zhang: Deputy Minister, Department of Science and Technology, China; former Professor, Peking University

*Received B.S. degree from the Department

**Received M.A. degree from the Department

Keep in touch with classmates and friends. Help us keep in touch with you. Join the Department of Economics Alumni Registry. Complete all or part of the registration form here. Please be sure to specify whether you want your information to be published on the web or for department use only.