Diversity Conference 2005

Annual Diversity Conference
March 31 - April 1, 2005

Thursday, March 31, 2005

9:30- 10:00 Complimentary Light Breakfast
Standish Room, Science Library

10:00-11:30: Keynote Speakers

Azara Santiago-Rivera, Ph.D.
Jeanette Altarriba, Ph.D.

"The Dynamics of Bilingualism in Therapy with Spanish-English Speaking Clients"
Standish Room, Science Library

1:00-2:00pm Complimentary Light Lunch
Education Building 335

2:00-3:30pm Workshop

Arlene Istar Lev, CSW-R, CASAC

“Transgender Emergence”
Standish Room, Science Library


Friday, April 1, 2005


9:30-10:00 Complimentary Light Breakfast
Standish Room, Science Library

10:00-12:30 Workshop

LaRae Jome, Ph.D.

“Whites' Voices: Social and Individual Constructions of a White Racial Ideology”
Standish Room, Science Library

12:30-2:00pm Complimentary Light Lunch
Education Building 335

2:00-4:00pm Panel Discussion: Diversity Issues in Mental Health Practice

M. Nicole Coleman, Ph.D., Moderator

Paul Jankiewicz, Ph.D.
Topic: Religious and Spiritual Values in Practice Settings

Carolyn Malloch, M.S.
Topic: Disability Issues in Practice

Patricia K. O'Neill, CSW
Topic: Working with Rural Clients

Norma Pol, Ph.D.
Topic: Counseling Latinos

The Diversity Conference is a student run conference by the doctoral students of the Division of Counseling Psychology. The conference would not be possible without support from the following:

Academic Affairs
Affirmative Action Grant- Office of Affirmative Action
Counseling Center
Dean's Office, School of Education
Division of Counseling Psychology - University at Albany
Graduate Student Organization (GSO) - Your GSO Funds-at-Work
Multicultural Affirmative Action Committee
Nelson A. Rockefeller College of the Public Affairs and Policy
President's Office- University at Albany
University Auxillary Services

We would like to thank and congratulate the members of the Diversity Conference Committee for their invaluable time and effort in helping plan and coordinate the 15th Annual Diversity Conference: Joeleen Cooper, Carrie Cragun, Kristen Dams-O'Connor, Christy Duffy-Paiement, Justin Gibson, Janice Harewood, Melissa Horn, Jessica Lambert, Ingrid Rodriguez, Mike Siembor, and Veronica Stotts. We would like to extend our appreciation to our faculty advisor Myrna Friedlander, and Conference Coordinator, Walt Kendall. Special thanks to Kristen Corbett and Laura Deihl for their generosity in opening up their homes to us. Finally, a special thank you to all the presenters who shared their time and expertise in this event.