Wilkie Award

The Richard W. Wilkie Award for the Outstanding Undergraduate in Communication is given each May. The award is named after Dr. Wilkie, an emeritus member of the Communication faculty who urged his students to attain excellence, especially in argumentation and public discourse. 

Each March, graduating seniors ranking at the top of the class are invited to compete for this award. A Wilkie Committee selects the winner based on the following criteria: (1) an outstanding academic record, (2) effective delivery of an extemporaneous speech, and (3) strong critical thinking skills (evidenced through the development of a speech that was coherent, logical, and well-justified).

The winner, traditionally addresses the senior class at commencement, is featured in the Department Recognition Ceremony program and listed in the university-wide Commencement program.

Wilkie Award winners:

2019 Karlie Flood >>
2018 Samantha CardonaKarlie Flood Wilkie Winner 2019
2017 Gabrel Reid
2016 Molly Cohen
2015 Cecilia Guo
2014 Joseph Meringolo
2013 Natasha Cooper
2012 Clare Daly
2011 Aaron Gaita
2010 Tali Gellert
2009 Tracy McQuade
2008 Kelly Smith
2007 Denise Kerwath
2006 Jamie Cheung and Erika Gatzke
2005 Ashley Heilmann
2004 John Lebret and Caroline Maiello
2003 Ioannis Kareklas and Linda Lampert
2002 Erin Hornbeck
2001 Ozioma Egwuonwu and Iram Zaman
2000 Andrew Fyfe
1999 Ashley Lounsbury and Jennifer Meilak
1998 Eric Edwin Williams
1997 Frank Crocitto and Kathryn Santoro
1996 Veronique Jouhaud
1995 Linda Lawrence and Carol Tiger
1994 Douglas Woodard
1993 Jennifer Baniak and Daniel Hills
1992 Michael Lettera and Ilene Schreibman
1991 Todd Mohrmann
1990 Noel Egiziano